PDA

View Full Version : Page title appearing to be overwritten


ABC123

coleresources
05-08-2013, 12:47 PM
I am defining my a5w page titles but no matter what I place there, only "Dialog" appears. Anyone else having this problem?

Steve Workings
05-08-2013, 04:18 PM
Mine's good Josh in Chrome and Firefox at least. My organization might be slightly different than yours: My page with the UX has pagetop.a5w included at the top, and it's in that pagetop.a5w page where I set the Title.

coleresources
05-08-2013, 04:34 PM
Thanks Steve, just wanted to make sure the issue was on my end.

Clipper87
05-09-2013, 10:41 AM
Josh,

You are probably using wysiwyg mode to create the a5w page ? Don't do that, in fact never use it. I believe the default setting for the editor mode has recently been changed to "source" which is what you want.

Create a new a5w page in source mode, enter a title between the title tags & save it, then insert your component with the part for the head section after the title tag (paste it there) should be ok, the part for the body section after the body tag (paste it there).

The xbasic line containing ".Output.Head.Title " in the head part of your component (automatically generated) is in fact causing the issue. Your browser cache also plays a role. But just to keep things simple: do not use wysiwyg. By simply opening an a5w page in wysiwyg mode your a5w page will be changed and that is not what you want.

JimDK
05-09-2013, 11:28 AM
I normally add the component in wysiwyg mode, and then switch to source mode, and from then on all changes are done in source mode, that works fine, and I find it easyer to insert the component in wysiwyg than doing it manually

coleresources
05-09-2013, 09:13 PM
Jim,

That's normally what I do as well. It's a new issue for me that the Title's are stuck at "Dialog". I will follow Frank's recommendations and see if that fixes it. Frank, I ruled out the browser caching the title, the problem persisted after clearing my cache.

Thanks for the input guys. I appreciate it.

coleresources
05-15-2013, 02:46 PM
Seems to be a cascading affect. I placed the title at the top of the head section and it works fine now. Thanks for all of the input.