PDA

View Full Version : Tree Control - Filter by Session Variable


ABC123

josevelez
06-14-2013, 03:14 PM
Does anyone know if one can filter a tree control by a session variable?

Clipper87
06-14-2013, 04:48 PM
session variable = server side, so I'd say if you create your tree control using xbasic there should not be a problem to generate different tree controls depending on the session variable.

josevelez
06-14-2013, 06:38 PM
Frank,

I'm not creating it with xbasic - beyond my capabilities. I'm using the 'Tree-control Record Navigator' property in the grid properties.

There is something under 'Settings' -> 'Settings' that says 'Filter tree using Grid filter (SQL ony)' that I tried but it does not seem to work either.

35819

Looks like yet another Alpha feature with no documentation on how exactly to use it. Frustrating....

Clipper87
06-14-2013, 06:58 PM
Ok, I thought you were referring to a tree control in a UX component...

I'd say the help text for 'Filter tree using Grid filter (SQL only)' speaks for itself + there is a video on this new feature http://www.ajaxvideotutorials.com/V12Videos/grid_treenavigator_filter.swf

Notice v12 is still a beta & not finished and so documentation isn't either...

josevelez
06-14-2013, 08:01 PM
Thanks Frank, I've watched that video, it didn't help.

I know V12 is new but I see folks have been asking this question here since V10. I can't understand why they left out the ability to filter by session variable.

Clipper87
06-15-2013, 03:46 AM
>>I can't understand why they left out the ability to filter by session variable.

Jose,

I think that is yet another strength of Alpha; they listen to their customers! Build a case; explain your idea why & how in short and chances are Selwyn may decide to implement it if timing allows it.

josevelez
06-15-2013, 10:46 AM
Thats the thing Frank,

If you do a search on this forum for folks asking the same thing - the ability to filter a tree control with session variable, you will find posts going back several years/versions.

So if Alpha was listening they would have added this already. As far as I am concerned, that tree control is useless without that ability filter by session variable. I think Alpha has a great product but there is room for improvement on documentation and some existing features.

Clipper87
06-15-2013, 11:05 AM
Jose,

The messageboard is not the way to do product suggestions; it is not for bug reports either and yet you'll see people continuing to complain without ever taking the time to send in a well documented bug report including a sample app/component to allow the Alpha developers to duplicate the issue. And that brings me back to my point: Build a case; explain your idea why & how in short and send it to Selwyn. This product is more driven by it's community then you might suspect.

josevelez
06-15-2013, 12:29 PM
Frank,

I'm not a developer or beta tester... I'm a paying customer with other priorities. If I pay for something I have the right to complain about what I may consider shortcomings.

Alpha has a responsibility (if they care about their customers and want to be proactive to understand what their customers want) to have a presence in the community to flesh out those features that their customer want or shortcomings that are causing frustration.

I agree with you partly but for Alpha to expect all of their customers to do so is not the correct way in my opinion. If this were an open source product the case would different.

What I am most frustrated with is that I am continuing to find a pattern among Alpha's product
* very poor documentation
* inadequate videos that barely touch the surface and ignore the fact that most users are working with dynamic data and will not hard code values
* features that start with good intentions but fall short of being useful
* Adding mobile functionality with no offline storage
* No login feature that is suitable for mobile devices
* A tree control that cannot (at least as far my capabilities are concerned) leverage session variables like practically every component in Alpha.

Frank, please do not take my tone the wrong way. I appreciate having these types of conversations.

As I've said before, Alpha has a great product BUT they need to work on documentation and fleshing out some of the already existing features. I don't have a problem paying more for a product (as it seems V12 will be going that route) but you can be sure I will be ever critical and always willing to move to a competing product if it meets my needs.

coleresources
06-18-2013, 02:42 PM
Jose,

I am also a paying customer with other priorities (Trying to become a programmer but am still a novice) but what Frank suggested makes a lot of sense. Submit the component with sample data and what is needed to Selwyn. You will get a quick answer as to whether or not there is already a mechanism to accomplish what you want or if not where Alpha stands with that particular feature request. Just an observation but you could have submitted to Alpha what they would need in order to help you in as much time as it took for you to post your question/responses.

josevelez
06-18-2013, 03:41 PM
Josh,

You are correct. I let my frustration get the better of me sometimes. I'm willing to accept when I am whining instead of directing that energy into something more productive. I was definitely whining... :grin:

Clipper87
06-18-2013, 03:50 PM
This product is more driven by it's community then you might suspect. Oops I repeat myself :-)

josevelez
06-18-2013, 04:06 PM
Thanks for being so patient with me Frank! I've decided to put this feature aside and 'play' with it later. I'll be sure to update this post if I make progress on it.