PDA

View Full Version : Tough time installing V12


ABC123

Atta
06-25-2013, 10:51 AM
I installed the server app v12 on the same server as V11, in a different directory, and activated it.

I stopped the V11 server, set up the V12 server with the same settings and published the website with V12 Developer, to the same a5webroot, the website does NOT come up.
I don't have a clue what is going on.

Can someone help me.

Steve Wood
06-25-2013, 12:53 PM
We need to see what does happen, error message, what the page looks like, etc. You must turn on logging and capture what is being reported to the log.

Atta
06-25-2013, 10:46 PM
I get nothing no message nothing.
Installed the V12 server on the same box as V11
Stopped V11
Started V12
Go to the web site nothing happens, blank page
Publish the pages with V12 development where the V12 server is running, in the same webroot as V11 was running
Go to the web site nothing happens, blank pages.
Removed all of "old" V11 files and published all new V12 files
Nothing blank page and it keeps telling me that it says"Pages takes a long time to load...."

Any help please?

Steve Wood
06-25-2013, 11:02 PM
If the web server is running it HAS to provide some feedback. You must turn on logging and capture error, raw and "stack" logs. (See the logging tab, logs are named like my example list). If you get no logs at all, then the server is not running or you are not hitting it with the URL you entered.

Atta
06-26-2013, 09:42 AM
This is the only thing I have in the logs
- a5RawHttplog

****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:35:59 -0700
Starting initial worker threads
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:35:59 -0700
Starting new thread, ID: 6e2da6a40e704699b060ac78cd64493c
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:35:59 -0700
Starting new thread, ID: 3e9fc878f3334d8e83fa3dd220524b06
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:35:59 -0700
Starting new thread, ID: 1e871a0470ef4cb7a1d2dbaea1ab5ba3
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:36:00 -0700
Starting new thread, ID: 67fc6e43dc5449cc985ce7e897887002
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:36:00 -0700
Starting new thread, ID: 3b6fedb18c27488db3a5f98abc70ccc7
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:36:00 -0700
Starting new thread, ID: 780704b36bff47649a3663ed05698c34
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:36:00 -0700
Starting new thread, ID: c5035d57d7eb44d5bc0a2de02985041b
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:36:00 -0700
Server now running all initial threads
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:36:00 -0700
Starting new thread, ID: 771af96931ac4a3fb3892124f7deb5c6
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:37 -0700
Ending thread, ID: 1e871a0470ef4cb7a1d2dbaea1ab5ba3
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:37 -0700
Ending thread, ID: 780704b36bff47649a3663ed05698c34
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:38 -0700
Ending thread, ID: 6e2da6a40e704699b060ac78cd64493c
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:38 -0700
Server shutting down, stopping all threads
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:38 -0700
Ending thread, ID: 3e9fc878f3334d8e83fa3dd220524b06
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:38 -0700
Ending thread, ID: c5035d57d7eb44d5bc0a2de02985041b
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:38 -0700
Ending thread, ID: 67fc6e43dc5449cc985ce7e897887002
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:38 -0700
Ending thread, ID: 771af96931ac4a3fb3892124f7deb5c6
****************************************
****************************************
26/Jun/2013:06:38:38 -0700
Ending thread, ID: 3b6fedb18c27488db3a5f98abc70ccc7
****************************************

And in the A5ThreadTransitionlog

6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Gained Control","AU_thread_begin",38965340,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Releasing Control","AU_thread_schedule - Relinquish",38965343,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Gained Control","AU_thread_schedule - Relinquish",38965347,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","New worker thread started","",38965352,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Thread ID: 1e871a0470ef4cb7a1d2dbaea1ab5ba3","",38965355,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Releasing Control","_execute_dll_fun",38965361,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
3,2240,"AppServerMain","Gained Control","AU_thread_schedule - Sleep",38965365,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
3,2240,"AppServerMain","Starting initial worker thread 4 of 8","",38965368,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
3,2240,"AppServerMain","Releasing Control","AU_background_create",38965374,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
3,2240,"AppServerMain","Gained Control","AU_background_create",38965377,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
3,2240,"AppServerMain","Releasing Control","AU_thread_schedule - Sleep",38965399,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Gained Control","_execute_dll_fun",38965402,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Xbasic error logging enabled","",38965410,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","OOhttpdServerClientMIME started","",38965415,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Thread usage monitor threshold has been set","",38965421,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","About to do Socket.Accept(), waiting for 1000ms ...","",38965425,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
6,3044,"AppServerWorker3","Releasing Control","INET::Socket::Accept",38965429,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
7,3032,"AppServerWorker4","Gained Control","AU_thread_begin",38965432,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
7,3032,"AppServerWorker4","Releasing Control","AU_thread_schedule - Relinquish",38965436,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
7,3032,"AppServerWorker4","Gained Control","AU_thread_schedule - Relinquish",38965439,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
7,3032,"AppServerWorker4","New worker thread started","",38965444,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
7,3032,"AppServerWorker4","Thread ID: 67fc6e43dc5449cc985ce7e897887002","",38965458,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:35:59 0000
7,3032,"AppServerWorker4","Releasing Control","_execute_dll_fun",38965465,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:36:00 0000
3,2240,"AppServerMain","Gained Control","AU_thread_schedule - Sleep",38965468,-1,1,2013-06-26 06:36:00 0000

That is all I have

Steve Wood
06-26-2013, 09:57 AM
Did you try to access the web app while the log was on? I see no evidence of a single web browser hit in your logs.

Atta
06-26-2013, 10:25 AM
Thanks Steve, yes I did, I CTRL F5 so that I get a whole fresh page, closed the browser but still nothing after opening.

Steve Wood
06-26-2013, 10:35 AM
Browsers normally do not display "nothing". They show content or an error message. Even of the screen is blank, if you right click and "show page source" you should see something. But the logs show you are not hitting the Alpha server at all.

Atta
06-26-2013, 11:01 AM
On the server, where I have V12 server running, I can get to the web pages, but outside of that I cannot.

The troubleshooting says "website (pdwlab) is online but is not responding to connection

Steve Wood
06-26-2013, 11:39 AM
Well then simple, your firewall is blocking port 80 (or 443 for SSL), or you are not using the proper URL/IP to get to your application.

Atta
06-26-2013, 12:09 PM
Did it thanks Steve. Things are working.

Clipper87
06-27-2013, 11:35 AM
I hope you did not simply disable your firewall? If your v11 server was working ok (and thus port 80 was not blocked) then all you needed to do was to create a firewall EXCEPTION for the new v12 executable.