PDA

View Full Version : Is the Alpha Anywhere DevTool really Multi-Threaded


ABC123

stanlyn
02-08-2014, 05:54 PM
Hi,

Is the current V12 of the Alpha Anywhere development ide tool considered true tmulti-threaded so dev work can continue on other unrelated tasks (but part of the same workspace) can be done when a long running task is being processed, such as doing a time expensive updating process on 4 million records.

Thanks, Stanley

Peter.Greulich
02-09-2014, 02:01 PM
You can script threaded processes - e.g.

thread_create("thisThread",<<%code%
dim vFlag as L = .t.
while vFlag
'do some stuff
end while
%code%)


'Stop the thread
thread_variables("thisThread").vFlag := .f.

stanlyn
02-09-2014, 08:49 PM
Hi Peter

You are speaking that you can make multi threaded apps???? My question is not about apps you create, instead is the development tool itself multi threaded?

Thanks, Stanley

Steve Wood
02-09-2014, 11:46 PM
Not as far as I can tell. If you run a script in Interactive or Code tab, it locks up the computer until the process is done. But if you are updating 4Mil records, you would be using SQL and updating them with script outside of Alpha anyway.

stanlyn
02-10-2014, 11:57 AM
Hi Steve,


you would be using SQL and updating them with script outside of Alpha anyway

Not necessarily, if you need to use some xbasic magic that had to be done via the IW. I see xbasic much like vfp's rich and powerful commands and functions and would like to leverage that when possible and the IW is a perfect place (well almost) to use them at will.

So, could I open a 2nd instance of A5 and load the same workspace and continue working on any other "non 1st instance" process while the 1st instance is processing records? This is what I have to do in VFP to get around the non multi-threading issue?


Stanley

Peter.Greulich
02-10-2014, 02:53 PM
Stanley,

Alpha won't allow you to open/duplicate the same workspace in the same version of Alpha. I suppose there are ways you could cheat - create a duplicate workspace with a diff. name.

I understand what you want to do. I have a project w. a VFP programmer and he does that all the time - open multiple windows and run processes interactively, etc. I don't think Alpha is set up quite the same way. Sure you can use the IW but if anything what I do is just create temporary scripts, run them & delete as needed. I use the IW for testing stuff. You can use the trace window for output as well (to test or see results). The VFP guy whose humungous app we are gradually moving to Alpha, has some of the same complaints/issues as you do. But, like you, he knows that VFP is a dead end, hence the Alpha conversion.

kkfin
02-22-2014, 09:29 AM
But, like you, he knows that VFP is a dead end

As a Microsoft product but not as a language. (http://www.lianja.com/)

stanlyn
02-25-2014, 09:28 AM
Hi,


As a Microsoft product but not as a language.

True, I don't intend to leave VFP in my lifetime as it will finish me. I know it well and for desktop and/or client server apps I'm very productive.

What caught my eye on Alpha is the browser and mobile development, and once that's done desktop is almost free at that point. I'm moving toward browser based and mobile development in which VFP was never a player.

Thanks, Stanley

kkfin
02-25-2014, 03:07 PM
I'm moving toward browser based and mobile development in which VFP was never a player.


In fact there is vfp for web project here (https://activevfp.codeplex.com/).
Here (http://72.219.220.152:444/avfp6/default.avfp)is the demo page.
I did also(just for curiosity) install it to godaddy hosting (4.99/month) and yes it really did work as promised.

kkfin
02-26-2014, 05:24 AM
In fact there is vfp for web project here (https://activevfp.codeplex.com/).
Here (http://72.219.220.152:444/avfp6/default.avfp)is the demo page.
I did also(just for curiosity) install it to godaddy hosting (4.99/month) and yes it really did work as promised.


This is out of topic but it is good to notice: In the above demo page Visual Foxpro is running on ordinary godaddy hosting account on IIS server without any special modification on top of .NET.( no private or dedicated server needed).

stanlyn
02-26-2014, 08:44 PM
Hi Ken,

Thanks for pointing that out as I was aware of ActiveVFP, but didn't realize that it had progressed to this level. I will be spending some time there asking how to develop for desktop, web, and mobile from a single code base.

Thanks again, Stanley