PDA

View Full Version : AlphaDAO on desktop?


ABC123

MRTankle
04-15-2014, 10:07 AM
Maybe I'm missing something, but is AlphaDAO available for desktop apps? All I'm seeing is Active and Passive link tables. Is running a web component in a desktop app the only way to accomplish this?

Al Buchholz
04-15-2014, 10:15 AM
Yes

Look at the import operation and action scripting for Alpha DAO options.

SQL (using Alpha DAO) is the action script Category

Active and Passive linked tables use Alpha DAO.

Stan Mathews
04-15-2014, 11:00 AM
And there is quite a bit in the documentation on using xbasic sql commands. You might start with

http://wiki.alphasoftware.com/Working+with+SQL+Databases+Title

MRTankle
05-28-2014, 04:49 AM
In a multi-user environment, does each user get there own set of active-link tables? Say the SQL DB is on network drive Z: and each user is running from their local drive c:. Where are the active link tables going to be located?

Peter.Greulich
05-31-2014, 01:36 AM
Where are the active link tables going to be located?

The secret it in the word - "link". The AL tables just link to the actual sql tables. So all they store is a pointer to sql. Physically, the AL's sit on the same server/folder as the Alpha application.

MRTankle
05-31-2014, 02:47 PM
So in a multi user environment is it better to put a separate copy of the runtime on everyone's c: drive? The actual sql db will be on it's own semi dedicated server. Thanks

Peter.Greulich
05-31-2014, 04:05 PM
Each user should have their own RT.