PDA

View Full Version : How to stop the message "There are no pages in the layout" from popping up?


ABC123

Roland
11-26-2014, 07:54 AM
I am developing a time clock program. The computers that will use this application have no keyboard. They only have bar-code scanner. A personnel scans his card to see his time records but when he has no record yet, a message "There are no pages in the layout" pops up. Since the computer has no keyboard, there is no way to close the dialog. Is there a way to stop the report from popping this message?

Stan Mathews
11-26-2014, 09:12 AM
Check the count of records before calling the report. Generally done with a5_get_records_in_query().

if a5_get_records_in_query(~~~~report filter~~~~~) > 0
print/preview report
end if

Roland
11-30-2014, 10:56 PM
Thanks for the workaround. The only drawback is... it consumes processing time.

DaveM
11-30-2014, 11:41 PM
about 1 millionth of a second?

Roland
12-01-2014, 01:18 AM
about 1 millionth of a second?

Well, it depends on the number of records and the filter.

Tom Cone Jr
12-01-2014, 03:10 AM
The EXIST() function can quickly determine if there is at least one record in the table matching your employee id code.

GGandhi
12-01-2014, 07:22 AM
i am just curious..
here is a scenario where the report runs 5 pages how would they move around the pages if there were no keyboard?