PDA

View Full Version : Saving the GridBuilder


ABC123

Gregory R. Zilliox
09-17-2004, 05:44 AM
When saving the GridBuilder it looks like it does a complete fetch of the entire table or view. Sometimes it times out and I dont get a good grid. We have over 500,000 records in the view.
Does WAS have to fetch the entire table or view while saving the grid?
Greg

Selwyn Rabins
09-17-2004, 06:24 AM
it doesn't fetch the entire database, but it does do a query and fetch the first x rows so that it can save a snapshot of the html.

this snapshot of the html is used when you turn on the 'preview' pane in the web control panel.

i could introduce a property called 'fastsave'. if fastsave was enabled, then when saving a grid, it would not update the html view.

Gregory R. Zilliox
09-17-2004, 06:35 AM
That would be great. I just would like to save the grid and test it "live".
Greg

Selwyn Rabins
09-17-2004, 12:10 PM
next patch will have an option under Options/Preferences in the grid builder to turn on 'fast saves'