PDA

View Full Version : how to autostart WAS


ABC123

Steve Wood
09-10-2004, 06:11 PM
I could not find reference on how to 'auto start WAS with Windows" so if my server reboots, the WAS will start. Keep in mind that WAS needs full version of v6, but that no database is opened, just the WAS.

Steve Wood
09-10-2004, 06:16 PM
And, any chance WAS can run as a service?

Lenny Forziati
09-10-2004, 09:07 PM
The Web Application Server does not currently run as a Windows service. In order to have it start up automatically, you will need to create a database with an autoexec that does an httpd_server_start(), create a shortucut to this database in the Startup program group, then configure Windows to login automatically.

-Lenny

Steve Wood
09-10-2004, 10:10 PM
Unless I am mistaken, I can't do that. In order to run the WAS, I have to install the full version of A5V6. But my full version is licensed on a different machine (plus a laptop as its second license). Since my full version on teh server is not licensed to the server, excpet for the WAS, I assume I am not able (or at least licensed) to launch a database. To do what you suggest, I would have to have a full A5V6 license for the server in addition to the WAS license. Correct?

Mario Prieto
09-16-2004, 07:30 PM
Let us analize your question:
if you buy A5v6 single user you can install it on 2 computers only:
A desktop and a laptop both with different names.
So if I develop an application for WAS I have to install the full version of A5V6 because there is no way of installing the WAS Server only. That is 3 computers!!!

I wonder what is the answer!

Lenny Forziati
09-17-2004, 08:24 AM
You do not need an A5V6 license for the server, the Web App Server will run in an unlicensed copy of Alpha Five (assuming the Web App Server itself is licensed)

-Lenny

Lenny Forziati
09-24-2004, 08:08 AM
As of build 1536-2011, the Web Application Server now has an option to start automatically when Alpha Five is launched. With this you no longer need a startup database with an autoexec script.

-Lenny

Steve Bovino
05-31-2005, 05:02 AM
Lenny:

Any plans to run the WAS as a service? Thanks,

Steve

Steve Bovino
05-31-2005, 06:47 AM
Lenny:

What I have found however is that when our server is rebooted the WAS does not start running until the admin user is logged in. Over the weekend the admin user was logged off and we could not access the the web site eventhough the WAS was running. When we logged on the admin user today we once again had access. Am I missing something? Thanks,

Steve

Lenny Forziati
05-31-2005, 08:39 AM
That is correct Steve. You would need to configure Windows to autommatically log in as the desired user upon reboot. This procedure is covered at support.microsoft.com

Lenny Forziati
05-31-2005, 08:40 AM
Yes, but there is still a significant amount of work to be done for this. We do not have an estimate on when this will become available.

Some users have reported success with third-party tools to run any application as a Windows service, but we cannot recomend or support any of these configurations.