PDA

View Full Version : AlphaV webs Server And Apache


ABC123

kgilroy
09-04-2004, 04:46 AM
This was posted first on the A5 ver 6 forum
but probably should have been posted here first!

We have a hosted RAQ server service with our
local ISP
The box operates on Linux Red Hat and the
Apache Server.

I have read as much as I can about Alpha's web
server but am confused over the Alpha Apache module.

Do I get my ISP to install Alpha's WAS alongside
Apache but make sure the the Alpha WAS is operating
on something other than port 30?

Does this then mean that getting the Alpha server to
pickup .aw5 pages requires me to make sure that all
such page requests are hard coded www.mysite:82/
if 82 is the port chosen for the Alpha server?

Cheryl Lemire
09-04-2004, 07:11 AM
Hi Kevin,

""Does this then mean that getting the Alpha server to
pickup .aw5 pages requires me to make sure that all
such page requests are hard coded www.mysite:82/
if 82 is the port chosen for the Alpha server?""

If you hard code any entrances to the site with www.mysite.com:82/ once the user is 'inside' you can simply keep all other links as: page1.a5w, page2.a5w ... however a visitor 'enters' that base path will follow through on all pages.

Hope that made sense :)

Cheryl

kgilroy
09-04-2004, 10:16 AM
Thanks Cheryl, its slowly
becoming clearer!

Do I then install Alpha's WAS alongside
Apache but make sure the the Alpha WAS is operating
on something other than port 30?

Any any what the AlphaV Apache Module is?

Cheryl Lemire
09-05-2004, 07:55 AM
I have not had the opportunity to work with the apache module at all so I really cannot answer your other questions, sorry.

Edward Larrabee
09-07-2004, 06:16 AM
The marketing description of the product is at Apache Support for the Web Application Server.

kgilroy
09-07-2004, 07:47 AM
From the marketing link
"The Alpha Module for Apache 2.0 (mod_AlphaFive) etc"

Does the module for Apache come with Version six
or is it a separate purchase?

kgilroy
09-07-2004, 07:48 AM
Thanks Cheryl

Sorry for delay in reply but unable to
access message board over the weekend.

Lenny Forziati
09-07-2004, 07:54 AM
The Apache module enables the Apache web server to function as a front-end proxt to the Web Application Server. It offers several benefits, including virtual hosting, SSL support and load balancing. It does NOT however eliminate the need to have a windows-based server running our Web Application Server software. Your ISP (or you) will still need to purchase and install this component.

This means that in the setup you mentioned (Apache on Linux), you will need a second server, running Windows 2000, XP or 2003, on which the Web Application Server is installed and running.

You could then configure the module to direct either all requests or just request for .a5w pages to the Web Application Server. You would not need to do anything special with the hyperlinks, the Apache module would make the decision as to which server needed to handle the specific request.

-Lenny

kgilroy
09-07-2004, 08:04 AM
Thanks Lenny,

Becoming clearer.
Either
1. We ditch the present Linux + Apache setup and go for a Windows based machine
2. Or purchase a second Windows based server to work
alongside the original Linux box.

Does the Apache module come as part of version six?

Lenny Forziati
09-07-2004, 08:20 AM
Either option 1 or 2 would work.

If you go with option 1, you may not need the Apache module - the Web Application Server is a full web server and can serve your entire site for you. Unless you need SSL, virtual hosting or load balancing, the module would just add an unnecessary level of complexity.

The module is no yet available. It will not be included as part of version 6, it will be a separately licensed product. And guessing what your follow-up question might be, I do not know how the module will be priced once it is made available.

-Lenny

kgilroy
09-07-2004, 10:32 AM
Thanks Lenny

Apart from the cost of the Alpha module, Apache
is a tough, tried and tested server

Moving over completely to the Alpha WAS without
much testing is probably too scary for me.

How does the Alpaha WAS measure up in terms of
speed compared to Apache.

We do get a lot of concentrated traffic with 400/500
individual users requesting pages.





Lenny Forziati wrote:
-------------------------------
Either option 1 or 2 would work.

If you go with option 1, you may not need the Apache module - the Web Application Server is a full web server and can serve your entire site for you. Unless you need SSL, virtual hosting or load balancing, the module would just add an unnecessary level of complexity.

The module is no yet available. It will not be included as part of version 6, it will be a separately licensed product. And guessing what your follow-up question might be, I do not know how the module will be priced once it is made available.

-Lenny

Michael Postovsky
11-29-2004, 02:22 PM
Is it still not available? Do you need beta-testers?

Regards,
Michael