PDA

View Full Version : How to access WAS


ABC123

davidv43
08-02-2004, 01:47 PM
I installed the "Web Application Demo" in the root directory on my C: drive. I have the web server configured to default everything. It is running, but I can't see the web demo from another computer. What URL do I use to reference this file?

Thanks

Kevin Tucker
08-02-2004, 02:32 PM
It is my understanding that unless you have a license for WAS you can only view the files on the machine that has WAS installed.

davidv43
08-02-2004, 02:32 PM
Roger that. I did purchase the license and have it installed.

Kevin Tucker
08-02-2004, 02:46 PM
Can you view the pages on the local machine? If so you should be able to view it from any other machine on the network with the IP of the server.

davidv43
08-02-2004, 02:50 PM
Yes, I can see it locally. Do I simply type in the URL of the machine? The actual file is in the Web_applications_demo folder, while the server is configured to see c:\a5webrrot as the default directory.

I know this is probably dumb, but I'm not getting it. Thank you for the help.

dave

Cheryl Lemire
08-02-2004, 02:51 PM
Hi David,

Are you trying to access the server from within an intranet or via the internet?

If you want within the intranet you can reference it via the computer name of the web server. If you want to access via the internet you need to know the 'public' IP address of the web server and/or assign a domain name to point to that IP address.

Here are a few samples:

Web server computer name: Cheryl
Web server internal IP: 192.1.1.1
Web server public IP: 162.xxx.xxx.xxx
Web server domain name: webserver.com

Within an intranet, to access: http://Cheryl/ or http://192.1.1.1/
Via the internet: http://162.xxx.xxx.xxx or http://webserver.com

All of the above is assuming that you are using port 80 for the web server, since you said WAS is setup with default settings, this will be the case.

Via the internet will be dependent on your internet connection and having the port you are using open. Obtaining the IP address for that pc will depend on how your network is setup. Once you have the actual 'public' IP you will need some form of DNS server to point a domain name to that specific IP.

You can obtain IP info by clicking on Start, run, ipconfig.

Good luck
Cheryl

davidv43
08-02-2004, 02:52 PM
Perhaps that's it. I'm trying to do it within the intranet. Will try this after my conference. Thank you!

davidv43
08-02-2004, 05:06 PM
Yep, that worked. Thank you very much.

I have at least three different databases which I'd like to make available on the web. Is there a way for this server to handle three different web "sites", all of which have a common root directory?

Thank you again

Selwyn Rabins
08-02-2004, 05:30 PM
yes, that it absolutely possible.

each 'application' would be published into its own folder under the webroot and each would have a different address for its home page.

Kevin Tucker
08-02-2004, 08:00 PM
Selwyn

How is this possible with the current version of WAS? Lenny told me that this would be handled in the Apache Module?

Cheryl Lemire
08-02-2004, 08:21 PM
I could be mistaken, but I would guess that the Apache Module will allow for virtual hosting. With WAS in its current state you can still 'host' as many applications as you would like. You would just need to know the 'address' of each application.

You could setup an index page with links on it to the various applications that you have and/or a login page. What the virtual hosting would allow you to do would be 'point' various domain names to subdirectories directly.

Examples:

Current WAS:
http://was.com/db1/index.a5w
http://was.com/db2/index.a5w

virtual hosting:
http://db1.com/ would auto direct to http://was.com/db1/index.a5w

http://db2.com/ would auto direct to http://was.com/db2/index.a5w

where db1.com and db2.com are the domain names.

Kevin Tucker
08-02-2004, 08:36 PM
Thanks Cheryl. I misread Selwyn's post I thought he was referring to multiple sites not apps. You are right it is possible with multiple apps no problem, just not multiple sites.

Kevin

Charles Brucks
08-04-2004, 10:48 AM
I have a web server hosting pages for my company, and a dbserver which alpha is installed and running WAS. I moved WAS to port 1010, opened the port in my router and forwarded it to my dbservers internal ip. This works for my web server, as it habdles port 25, 80 and 110. I get a error 403 forbidden...this server does not allow directory browsing, when i access it from another computer that's on the network. I have tried access both local throught the network and having my other puter go out to my domain name with with the :1010 to point to my dbserver and nothing all i get is the 403.

any ideas or tips?? maybe move the web server to the dbserver??? id rather not do this.

thanks in advance

Charles Brucks
08-04-2004, 10:49 AM
forgot to mention, i have been able to access this locally on the dbserver, just not from another computer.

Cheryl Lemire
08-04-2004, 11:07 AM
Check what you have set on the access tab in the WAS control panel ... has a directory browsing option there

Lenny Forziati
08-09-2004, 08:13 AM
If you get a message about directory browsing being disable, you have sent a request for a specific folder in thw web root, but you did not specify the page name. For example, the url "http://www.myserver.com/" does not specify a page name but only the root folder.

In this case, the server looks for a file as named by your default file(s) setting. If that is not found, it will display a directory listing if browsing is enabled or that error if it is not.

You can solve this problem in several ways:
- create an index page with the default file name (index.a5w or index.html)
- change your Web App Server settings to use a different default page, such as something like page1.html that you have already created
- enable directory browsing

-Lenny