PDA

View Full Version : updated printer drivers?


ABC123

Mike Walsh
08-23-2000, 09:46 AM
Have been using Alpha 4 for a number of years using Canon
200 series with good success. Apparently Canon's new series of printers no longer support DOS. Has Alpha created any new printer drivers that will work with the newer printers. Is anyone having any success with any of the newer printers (any brand) printing from Alpha 4. We have a real problem asour older Canons are starting to die and we are unable to find replacement printers.

Sue Ferguson
08-23-2000, 12:59 PM
Hi,
We are using a HP LaserJet 2100, using the HP4L series driver with no problems, we also have a HP InkJet that will work with a little tweaking.
Good Luck,
Sue

Ken Fleming
08-23-2000, 03:36 PM
I have a HP722C that would not print. Make sure the printer Supports DOS. Your manual should tell you that. The printing is controled by Windoes just like it was a windows program as for the printing is concerned.

I have to use a Jump start as many others have with newer printers. I have posted it many times and this is where I got it. I will e-mail it to you if you like. Just let me know. I wrote a Full explanation because So many were asking.


Ken

ERNIE KING
08-25-2000, 08:36 AM
Ken,

I have a HP 670C deskjet printer that formfeeds two extra blank sheets of paper. Do you know where I can get an updated print driver for alpha4v6 that will work with this printer.

Ernie King
Ernie.King@anchorhocking.com

rick blanka
09-07-2000, 10:53 AM
Any postscript printer will work. Postscript is postscript, dos or unix or Windows. I have a HP 5P with postscript and a HP IIIp with a postscript card running A4v2.

rick

russ Boehle
09-07-2000, 04:31 PM
I have stuck with HP laserjets and never have problems, they are always backward compatible, fast and print well. Now use laserjet 4000 and 4050 and they are great printers. Also you can send print jobs to different bins on the laserjets by playing around with the different laserjet drivers with A4. (the bins in the drivers don't always match exactly but can be made to work, especially laserjet 4 se driver)

Russ

Jerry Watson
04-17-2001, 05:07 PM
I also would like to find a printer driver for my HP 895C.
did you ever find you one, and if so, where?

Thanks in advace,
jerryw449@yahoo.com

Wayne Anderson
05-07-2001, 12:47 PM
You can give this a try. This setup works on many different HP Inkjet printers.



P r i n t e r C o n f i g u r a t i o n

Description : DESKJET 660C__________________________________
Printer left margin [0-40] : 5
Top of form delay [0-99] : 0
------------------------------ Printer Port ----------------
Printer port : LPT1:

Page Advance by : Formfeed
Lines per page [1-99] : 59
------------------------------ Printer Initialization ----
Set-up codes : 27 69 27 38 108 48 111 54 100 49 108
Close-out codes : 27 69
------------------------------ Print Styles --------------
Normal codes : 27 40 115 48 115 48 66
Bold codes : 27 40 115 51 66
Italic codes : 27 40 115 49 83
Uline on codes : 27 38 100 49 68
Uline off codes : 27 38 100 64
------------------------------ Print Density --------------
Compressed on : 27 40 115 49 54 46 54 55 72
Compressed off : 27 40 115 48 112 49 48 46 48 72

Enter a description for this printer configuration
F10Continue

Jerry Watson
05-07-2001, 07:48 PM
Yes Ken I would like to have Jump Start if it will help me with maybe 800 series Desk jet printers.

Jerry Watson
jerryw449@yahoo.com

Bret Graves
05-08-2001, 03:12 PM
I recently purchased a new computer which has windows ME edition and I can't get Alpha 4 version 2 to print on my HP5 laser jet. It causes an error and I have to restart the computer. It is set up exactly as my old computer that has windows 95. Any ideas?

Jerry Watson
05-08-2001, 07:25 PM
Thanks, I will try the setup and let you know if it works on a HP895CSE printer.

Jerry

Wayne Anderson
05-12-2001, 08:46 AM
go into msconfig from start run and add the line to 386enh

pervmfiles=150

and all is well.

George Reichert
05-21-2001, 04:01 PM
Just came accross Ken' comments regarding "jump start" for printers. Will this make non dos printers print Alpha 4v6? If it does please let me know where iI can get it! I have a Xerox Docuprint 8P sitting in a box! Thanks!
George

Richard Goldberg
06-10-2001, 11:34 AM
I am also having difficulties trying get the new generation of printers to operate with an early version of Alpha4.

I am currently utilizing my original version of Alpha4 v.1 (no chuckles please - it serves me well. I've never gotten around to updating it to Alpha4 v.2, v.3, and Alpha5 v.1 all which sit here on my shelf waiting for the day when I can figure out how to transition to the newer version).

I've recently added two Canon BJC-series printers (2100 and 85) for field work. Can anyone provide guidance that will allow the two printers to function with my v.1 database? I will be infinitely grateful for any advice. Many thanks.

George Reichert
07-08-2001, 02:49 PM
Ken: I have a Xerox printer that will not accept the Alpha4v6 print commands. What is "jump start" and if it will make the Xerox work how can I get a copy?! Thank you for your help!
Geirge

Ronald Anusiewicz
07-08-2001, 05:03 PM
George,

give this a try and let me know if it works.

Ron

P r i n t e r C o n f i g u r a t i o n

Description : Xerox XE88______________________________________________
Printer left margin [0-40] : 0
Top of form delay [0-99] : 0
------------------------------ Printer Port ----------------------------------
Printer port : LPT3:

Page Advance by : Formfeed
Lines per page [1-99] : 59
------------------------------ Printer Initialization ----------------------
Set-up codes : 27 69 27 38 108 50 97 48 111 54 100 27 40 49 48 85 27 40 115
Close-out codes : 27 69
------------------------------ Print Styles --------------------------------
Normal codes : 27 40 115 48 66 27 40 115 48 83
Bold codes : 27 40 115 53 66
Italic codes : 27 40 115 49 83
Uline on codes : 27 38 100 48 68
Uline off codes : 27 38 100 64
------------------------------ Print Density --------------------------------
Compressed on : 27 38 107 50 83
Compressed off : 27 38 107 48 83

Wayne Anderson
07-09-2001, 02:39 AM
Jump start is:
At a DOS prompt,
type
ver>lpt1
and press enter. This will print a single line on a sheet of paper with the Microsoft Version Number. If that works, you are in business. Then you can use ALPHA until you reboot your PC, at which time you will have to jump start your printer again. If this does not work, your printer simply doesn't accept DOS print jobs. Return it!
Wayne

jerry jones
07-10-2001, 05:45 AM
i used
HP LASERJET III/IV LETTER 6LPI 12CPI
HP LASERJET III/IV LETTER 6LPI 10CPI

with a4v6 i don't know if different versions print differently

hope this helps
jerry

George Reichert
07-11-2001, 03:15 PM
Ron: Thank you for responding! Iwill give your suggestion a try in the near future and let you know if it works!
Thanks again!
George

George Reichert
07-11-2001, 03:17 PM
Wayne: Thank you for your help ...I will hook up the printer soon and give it a try!
George

Peter Hirsch
07-21-2001, 12:20 PM
Richard,
Did you ever get a useful answer? I have the same problem (A4 ver4 and Canon BJC-5100)
Peter

Peter Hirsch
07-21-2001, 12:23 PM
Mike,
Did you ever get a useful reply? I'm using A4V4 and want to switch to a Canon BJC-5100. Thanks,
Peter

Richard Goldberg
07-22-2001, 11:47 AM
Peter,
No specific responses to using the Canon BJC series of printers
with Alpha 4. I continue to try other printer configurations, but
both printers do not respond to a print command. Anyone using
Alpha 4 with the Canon BJC series of printers? If someone knows how
to modify one of the existing printer configurations to function with
these printers, you will make a number of people quite happy. Thanks.
Rich

Wayne Anderson
07-23-2001, 09:29 AM
The Canon's work just fine. Use the hp deskjet. Should be fine. I use Epson for older dot matrix printers, I use HP Deskjet for most inkjets. And I use HP laserjet for most Lasers.
If you get a second blank page using the HP Deskjet config, take out the last 12 on the setup codes? or on one of the codes.

Wayne Anderson
07-23-2001, 09:30 AM
The Canon's work just fine. Use the hp deskjet. Should be fine. I use Epson for older dot matrix printers, I use HP Deskjet for most inkjets. And I use HP laserjet for most Lasers.
If you get a second blank page using the HP Deskjet config, take out the last 12 on the setup codes? or on one of the codes.