PDA

View Full Version : Network question - A4 in win98?

ABC123

Kerry Jannsen
05-05-2000, 10:31 PM
I've been using A4 for many years now on a single pc at work. I know very little about networking and would like set up another work station in the same office that would allow two people to use A4 6.2 at the same time. I don't expect a detailed response but would appreciate some basic information on what equipment I'll need and some do's and don'ts as well as whether I'll need to upgrade to a multi-user version or if my single user version will suffice. If this is too much to ask, maybe someone has a link to a site where I could get this information. Thanks in advance.

Kerry Jannsen

russ Boehle
05-07-2000, 04:49 PM
The manual gives pretty detailed information on how to do this. It really is pretty simple. As far as the hardware, it depends on how many users you foresee. For just 2 probably win98 peer to peer is the simplest. Just put a share on the directory with the files you need. You will need 2 copies of A4 or the runtime in order to stay legal. If you have an app and don't want users fiddling with the files the runtime is great, All the users see is what you want them to see.
You will also need a hub or preferably a switch, 2 ethernet cards and some cables. If buying cards get 10/100, you can get them for about $20 each and they are much faster than 10 meg cards which is important with A4. (I guess with win98 you could also use a direct cable connection for one additional user, see the win98 manual, but I think the network speed would be pretty slow this way). If you just have 2 computers you can also get by with 2 ethernet cards and a crossover cable. See the 3 com site on how to make a crossover cable. This eliminates the hub or switch but can only be used between 2 computers.

Hope this helps.

Russ

Mike Konoff
05-08-2000, 04:32 AM