PDA

View Full Version : bar code


ABC123

Norman Weiss
06-23-2001, 10:45 AM
Does anyone have an idea how to use A5v1.02 to print scannable bar codes (3/9)? I tried just using a bar code font but it does not scan with a wand. I've read that Access & Excel can produce them with some vbx code that font vendors offer for free. Could I use these tools? Thanks.

Thomas Henkel
06-26-2001, 09:33 AM
We had some issues with Alpha producing readable bar code. Our solution was to export to excel and have excel produce the barcodes we needed. There was a considerable amount of excel code, but I think that we can send it to you. Our bar code scanners are "WASP" brand. We downloaded their barcode fonts.

The system now works just fine.

If you need more help, just e-mail me with the specifics, and I will get back to you.


Tom

Norman Weiss
08-09-2001, 07:40 AM
Thanks for your response. I have experimented with exporting my database to Excel and then use a downloaded macro from bizfonts to create scannable codes and that did work. However, I'd rather be able to produce the code from within A5 so I better format the barcodes on order forms and shelf labels. It seems that my only problem is defining a calculated field to create the check digit. I have included the below formula which does not return the correct digit. The field name I want to encode is "V1NO" which is a 5 digit number. Any ideas? Thanks.

CHR(0204)+RTRIM(V1NO)+CHR(MOD((104+((ASC(SUBSTR( V1NO,1,1 )))+(ASC(SUBSTR( V1NO,2,1 )))*2+(ASC(SUBSTR( V1NO,3,1 )))*3+(ASC(SUBSTR( V1NO,4,1 )))*4+(ASC(SUBSTR( V1NO,5,1 )))*5)),103))+CHR(0206)

Thomas Henkel
08-13-2001, 04:17 AM
Does Alpha produce READABLE barcodes for you??

Our problem was that the printed barcode was too small and compressed.

I am not sure about your check digit routine. If it produces your expected results, then great. Did you try the chkdigit function?

Tom

Norman Weiss
08-26-2001, 06:38 AM
Hi- Alpha 5 is printing readable bar codes for me. I purchased the code128 font from IDAutomation. I still can't get A5 to calculate the check digit, and I did try the chkdgt function. Apparantly, different symbologies have different check digit formulas. I export my database to Excel, where a macro I got with the bar code font calculates the check digit, then I import it back into A5. I am using a font size of 18 and my inkjet printer is producing readable bar codes that are compact enough to use in our ordering book that we then use a wand to read.

Richard Christiansen
03-22-2002, 12:11 PM
A little late to respond here. How is your barcoding working now? I'm not sure about other bar code formats, but I've used the 3 of 9 bar code (or also called code 39) no problem with Alpha; just purchase the desired barcode fonts, as it sounds like you did, and for the code 39 format code, just add I think an asterisk before and after the item number or whatever you are making a barcode of and it works good simply as another font. Also, a scanner works just like a keyboard to enter a part number in a field whenever a code is scanned. The 3 of 9 bar code is nice because it converts characters directly to readible bars without calculating check digits, etc. I think Alpha should include the barcoding feature directly into future versions of their software and advertise it, as it would be an extremely important capability for many small businesses.

Thomas Henkel
03-24-2002, 12:20 PM
WE'RE NOT PRODUCING BARCODES, BUT WE READ THEM just fine. I just returned from the conference, but never broached the subject. Ver 5 will be out in June, it is so full of new things, I would be surprised if barcodes weren't there.

Tom