PDA

View Full Version : How to start with a blank form


ABC123

Jay Copenhaver
10-12-2000, 08:36 AM
We are using Alpha Five, version 1.02., but no one is answering my post in that forum. How do you open to a blank form, enter data in the form, and when you write the record to the database, have the form be cleared to enter the next record? Is this problem solved in version 2?

Lowell Wardlow
10-12-2000, 09:45 AM
Jay, actually, this IS the v1 forum.

There is a was to do what you ask.

1) In form design, select the object you want to be the
first data element to be filled in on each new record.
Select it's properties, name the object and save it
(ie, "OrderNumber")

2) Create a button on the form - name it "Save record"

3) On this (the SAVE) button, make it's events :

sys_send_keys("{F9}") ' save current record
menu_run("Records/Enter") ' start new record
obj_goto("OrderNumber") ' force it to be active,
' goto to a named element,
' now in data entry mode

Hope this does it for you.
Lowell

Jay Copenhaver
10-12-2000, 10:44 AM
Thanks, Lowell, for answering. I will try this as soon as I can.

I had posted this on this forum 3 weeks ago and no one answered it so I posted in on the Ver. 2 forum for 2 weeks and no one answered it. Then I copied it back to this forum, but forgot to edit my text.

Thanks again!