PDA

View Full Version : copying and appending fields


ABC123

Renny Ondejko
03-01-2005, 01:46 PM
I have two databases that are set up with the same fields with the exact formatting and I have a script that tells it to append the data from one database to the other when we are deleting a record. For example we have a member database so when we terminate that member with all their information it appends everything to the terminated member database. The problem that I'm having is that it is not appending the fields properly. Some fields are not copying over at all and some are appending in the wrong fields. Any ideas of what could be happening and how to fix it?

Thank you

Stan Mathews
03-01-2005, 01:58 PM
Msg ID: 78641
Subject: Please read before posting
Author: Alpha Software
Date: 02-16-2005 3:44 PM
File:


The suggestions below are not meant to make it difficult to post your question. They are meant to alert you to the kinds of details that will help you get the help you need as quickly and directly as possible.



Try a Search First

It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts.
As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.



Don't limit your search to a single forum (i.e. v6... review "threads" on other forums too, i.e. v5).



When you do post

First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Alpha 4 in an Alpha Five board, not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it will most likely be removed and not be seen by anyone.



The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to
understand your request and be able to help. A sample table with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with lookups, Xdialogs, etc. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.



When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress.
Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.



A note about attachments

You may only attach one file to each message and the file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.



If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.



When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to
viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.



Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE
file.

Renny Ondejko
03-01-2005, 02:11 PM
Stan,

I did do a search and did not find anything that pertained to my situation. If I have missed something please advise me of where I could find a similar situation and I would be happy to check it out.

Thanks!

M_Mowat
03-01-2005, 02:56 PM
I would build and append operation with the Genie then run it. If you are running this script from a form or browse button I would delete the script, after saving it, and add the append operation in it's place. See how this works. If it works properly you can convert it to script.
I just finished a few hours of building append operations within an app I am devloping. Both db's have the same structure and they worked great. I then converted them to script and run them that way. Also make sure your indexes are updated,(very important).

MM

Stan Mathews
03-01-2005, 03:44 PM
A sample table with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues

We can try forever to recreate your issue with tables we create, unlikely because in general appends from one table to another with the same structure work perfectly, or you can provide a sample demonstrating the issue you have. Another set of eyes examining your tables might see something that escapes you.