PDA

View Full Version : database search

ABC123

M_Mowat
02-24-2005, 12:44 PM
I have a button on a form that, when pushed, searches my db for a key value based on the current index. Pretty straight forward. If the value I enter is not in my db, ALpha returns with the next up value. What I would really like to do is have Alpha return with a dialoge box or something similar alerting the user that the value they entered was "not found". I know this must be possible but I'm not experienced with xbasic. Can anyone help me with this?

Cheryl Lemire
02-24-2005, 12:54 PM
Michael,

At the end of my message is a sample script I created which queries a table for a specific account number. If the account number does not exist in the table a message box lets the user know there were no matches.

The part that you would want to add to your code begins with the nrecs = . Hopefully this will give you a starting place.

Good luck
Cheryl

dim tbl as P
dim qry as P
dim nrecs as N

tbl = table.open("t_account")

query.description = "Search"
query.order = "acct_no"
query.filter = "\"" + vcgAcctNo + "\"$ACCT_NO" 'value of vcgAcctNo comes from lookup_acct_no script
query.options = ""
qry = tbl.query_create()

nrecs = qry.records_get()
IF (nrecs = 0) then
qry.drop()
ui_msg_box("Null Query","There are no matching records in this search, please try again" ,UI_INFORMATION_SYMBOL)
END
end if

xbasic_wait_for_idle()
tbl.close()
end

Finian Lennon
02-25-2005, 10:55 AM
Since you say you are using a "key value" I assume that there is an index on the field on which you are doing the find.

Check out "table".fetch_find() in the help.

If the field is "Id" and the index is on "ID" and you want to see if Id = "000123" exists in the table

t=table.open("querytable")
idx = t.order("Id")
recnum = t.fetch_find("000123")
if recnum " 0 then ' an exact match to "000123" was found
'do something
else ' # returned was less than zero, no exact match
'do something else
End if