PDA

View Full Version : Copy field1 to field2


ABC123

OOsorio
02-07-2005, 12:54 PM
Where field 1 is 10 characters long and field2 is 5 characters long and both are in the same record.

davej
02-07-2005, 01:11 PM
Oscar,

I THINK you are asking about taking two fields (first name and last name) and creating a field called 'name' made up of the two seperate fields. Created a field in the table called 'name', set it as the same type (character, in this example) with a length equal to the total of the two individual fields. While still in the Control Panel, right click on the table, select Create Operation, Update records and click the 'Create Using Genie' button. On the next window, click on the General tab and select the last option (Assign a Calculated Value to a Field), and click Next. Select the field you want to update (Name) and set the calculation as Firstname+" "+Lastname. This will insert a space between the firstname and lastname. Click next and follow the prompts.

When the Name field in all the records are updated, go bakc into Field Rules and set Name as Calculated, with the calculation as Firstname+" "+Lastname .

Update the current records populates Name in existing records and setting Name as calculated tells Alpha to populate Name in all future records.

If you are talking about fields other than firstname and lastname, just follow the same logic with your fields.

Dave

OOsorio
02-07-2005, 01:24 PM
Thak you Dave, I'll try it.