PDA

View Full Version : Report: making table val display only when changed


ABC123

Ivan Bindoff
02-06-2005, 05:21 PM
Hi everyone,
Please forgive my Alpha n00bness.

I'm writing a report from a table with the fields:
apsdnu, apsmana, apsdestad, apdetoad, apddnu, apornu etc...

(yes I know the naming convention is horrible, it's not MY database)

Anyway, this report should only display the value for apornu when it changes. Currently it displays...
"Order Number "apornu"
"...Details...""
for every single entry, I want it to be kinda like
"Order Number 6
"...Item 1 Details..."
"...Item 2 Details..."
"...Item 3 Details..."
Order Number 7
"...Item 1 Details...""

Anyone know how I can do that kind of thing?

Cheers,
Ivan.

Raymond Lyons
02-06-2005, 07:53 PM
At least for me, some clarification would help. You state your report is "from a table" but your example makes it look like it may be from a one-to-many set. Which is it? If it is just a matter of knowing when the value of the field changes, you may need a calculated field in the table with the date and time last change--or possibly jsut a flag indicating a change that gets reset when you have run your report? It depends, I suppose, on what you are doing. Then of course if this is really all from one table, your report could have a calculated field that would display based on whether there has been a change since ?????.

Others may dive in here but before I'd give any further suggestions I'd like clarification at least on the table versus set question.

Ray

Ivan Bindoff
02-06-2005, 11:16 PM
It is an absolutely flat table. One table. No relations at all.

When I say a change, I mean when the value changes from one entry to the next...

apornu is (for example): 5 for 3 entries, then 6 for 10 entries, then .. 23423456677 for 2 entries...

You see?

I just want to display the number when it's DIFFERENT from the last ornu displayed in the report... just like I detailed in my previous example...

Raymond Lyons
02-07-2005, 12:25 AM
Ah, I see. Or maybe I don't, even yet. Let's see if the follwing gets at what you are after: Try using Groups in your report such that each apornu value is a group. You can use quick report to create a group or do it manually.

If this does not address what you are after, then I still do not see! My fault, probably, not yours.

Ray

Ivan Bindoff
02-07-2005, 06:26 PM
Ahh, groups. You're a legend, cheers.

I'm used to writing database applications from the ground up, these software packages confuse me!

That worked a treat though, thanks a lot.