PDA

View Full Version : Order report on a calculated field?

ABC123

Alastair
02-12-2004, 02:41 AM
I have been using Alpha Five for 2-3 weeks now and I am very impressed with what I have managed to accomplish with it in such a short time however, I am now stuck with a problem on report design.

I have developed a customised version of the Alphasports database and want to create a report to display bestselling items. I have a report based on the table invoice_items which contains the fields product_id and a calculated field which consists of:

total(Invoice_Items-"Quantity,GRP-"Product_Id)

I have grouped the report on product_id.

I would like to order the report on the calculated field so that the top selling products are printed at the top of the report. But I cannot find out how to do this. The report order won't accept a calculated field as an argument. Is there a better way of approaching this using Alpha 5?

I have a lot of experience with Access and used to do this sort of thing using the Access query forms does Alpha have an equivalent of these?

Stan Mathews
02-12-2004, 03:23 AM
"The report order won't accept a calculated field as an argument." - mine does, screenshot attached.

"Access query forms" - I believe these are result tables created by some sort of operation (summarization, intersection, crosstabulation). Check the documentation for examples.

Alastair
02-12-2004, 03:29 AM
Yes, I have tried this, but when I put the calculated field name in the order box it didn't alter the order the records were displayed in?

calc-"Tot_Quantity_For_Product_Id

Is it something I am doing wrong?

Alastair
02-12-2004, 03:38 AM
I have also tried group properties and under the group order - specify order field, I tried pasting in:

calc-"Tot_Quantity_For_Product_Id

Alpha wouldn't allow this; error message reported was "cannot allow function in this context"

Stan Mathews
02-12-2004, 03:39 AM