PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP version of alpha


ABC123

conwell
02-12-2007, 09:02 AM
Hello Everyone,
I am new to this software at the school which I am the IT Coordinator. One of my dept's is on a Windows 98 pc (not SE from what I can tell), and using Alpha 4 version 6. Can someone tell em what Alpha release and version is needed for Windows XP? Also, how difficult will it be to import the user's current data into the new xp version and are there any known compatibility issues? Thank you very much,
Conwell

DaveM
04-28-2007, 03:17 PM
I would call alpha with that question about running on xp. I know the windows versions will all run on xp. It seems like a4v7 and a4v8 will too, but would check with alpha software before purchasing.

There wont be a huge upgrade to a4v7 or a4v8.

Only the data will come to the windows versions(a5v7 - a5v8) with no problems. All the forms, reports, etc will have to be rebuilt from scratch. Progress!? It really is better.

Dave

chapmx
05-02-2007, 11:29 AM
I use a4v8 with XP and works fine. I upgraded to a4v8 from a4v3 when purchasing a new pc that had XP a couple years ago. Th upgrade was fairly painless if I recall.

Tim

AaronBBrown
05-02-2007, 11:35 AM
XP requires A4v7 or A4v8. A4v6 is not XP compatible and can actually result in data corruption. If you want to upgrade to Alpha Five, you are best upgrading to the most recent version, A5v8.

Steve Pick
08-03-2007, 09:07 PM
Aaron, a long time ago I might have been able to answer this my self but can A4V6 be run from a DOS prompt.

There is a free program called DOSBOX which apparently was written for gamers using the command line and I wondered if AV46 can be started from the command line instead of an icon in Windows. I did try this from DOSBOX in XP but got some error message and gave up my 2 minute effort.

Steve