PDA

View Full Version : Calculated Field Expression using Grouping in Field Rules

ABC123

gazzat
09-23-2007, 12:18 AM
I'm very new to ALpha Five and am probably asking a stupid question but:

I have a field in a table that requires the value to be calculated from a group of other fields in the same table.

In excel the formula would be Cell C8 =sum(C1:C20). Is it possible to do this using the Field Rules and Expression Editor? If not is there a recommended way of achieving this result? In ALPHA I wish to have the Field 'AdjustedMarketValue' = 100 divided by total(MarketValue) for a group of Day, Venue, Section.

Any help is appreciated and will get me started down the right road.

Regards
GazzaT

Tim Kiebert
09-23-2007, 04:40 AM
The two functions I would suggest to get a sum of field values at the table level are DbSum() if you have an index defined that would group your records or TableSum() if you don't. DbSum() is faster because it uses an index but TableSum() is a bit more flexible because it takes a filter.

To achieve the value you are after for each record in the table you would enter something like this in the calculation for theAdjustedMarketValue field. Make the appropriate changes to match your field names

100/tablesum("YourTableName","Day+Venue+Section="+s_quote(Day+Venue+Section),"Marketvalue")
The expression may have to be tweaked a bit if your fields are not all character.