PDA

View Full Version : unique number required

ABC123

adamry
10-29-2007, 05:40 AM
hello, i am new in alpha5 and planning to create a database for my clinic. I would like to create sequential number such as 10000-001, 10000-002 etc. The first digits are from patient id or record no. While the last digits are from patient's visit frequency times. I have browse through the forum, could not find any answer.
Any help would be appreciated.

Stan Mathews
10-29-2007, 09:31 AM
Try

alltrim(patient_id)+"-"+increment_value(padl(alltrim(str(tablecount("yourtablename","patient_id ="+quote(patient_id)),3,0)),3,"0"))

Substituting your actual tablename, assuming the patient id field is named patient_id.

If you want a version that can be applied retroactively to existing records.

ALLTRIM(PATIENT_ID)+"-"+INCREMENT_VALUE(PADL(ALLTRIM(STR(TABLECOUNT("yourtablename","patient_id ="+QUOTE(PATIENT_ID)+".and. recno()<"+RECNO()),3,0)),3,"0"))

These would be used as the expression for a calculated field.

adamry
10-30-2007, 05:11 AM
Hello Stan,

Thanks for the help. However, the script in the calculated field gives an error of "argument is incorrect data type".
I create 2 simple table, one with Patient_id and another Treatment table with treatment_id and treatment_code fields. I would like to generate a treatment_code = patient_id-treatment count(visit), such as
1000-01,
1000-02,
1001-01, 1001-02, 1001-03 etc

I just bought the license Alpha5 a week ago, and trying my best to learn the program and its Xbasic from the help and some tutorial from Alphasoftware website.

Any help is appreciated.

Stan Mathews
10-30-2007, 09:21 AM
However, the script in the calculated field gives an error of "argument is incorrect data type".

What is the type of

Patient_id
treatment_id
treatment_code

I can't see why any would be numeric since you aren't going to perform any math calculations with them.

Try entering treatment records in my example attachment

adamry
10-30-2007, 12:49 PM
Hi Stan,