PDA

View Full Version : DHTML Component Setup Wizard


ABC123

Steve Workings
02-13-2008, 11:32 AM
I'm installing, and got a dialog "Welcome to the DHTML Component Setup Wizard" with radio button choices to Repair the DHTML Editing Component or Remove it.

This is new to me, I dunno what it's about but I selected "Repair" and hoped for the best. Nothing exploded.

I suggest that most users won't know what this is for.

Selwyn Rabins
02-13-2008, 01:37 PM
I'm installing, and got a dialog "Welcome to the DHTML Component Setup Wizard" with radio button choices to Repair the DHTML Editing Component or Remove it.

This is new to me, I dunno what it's about but I selected "Repair" and hoped for the best. Nothing exploded.

I suggest that most users won't know what this is for.

This happens on V8 as well if you are installing on Vista.
Microsoft removed built-in support for the DMTML activeX control in Vista.
The do provide an install for companies that need the control.
We use this control extensively in Alpha Five and so if you are running on Vista, when you install V8 or V9 we run the DMTML edit install from Microsoft silently.

Apparently, even when the install is run silently, if the DMTML edit has already been installed on your machine, it brings up this message box.

Steve Workings
02-13-2008, 02:10 PM
Yup, I should have mentioned I'm running Vista. I don't remember it with my version 8 install.