PDA

View Full Version : Active link table performance issues:


ABC123

christobal
03-14-2008, 06:44 PM
In the past week I have made extensive tests using the Active link feature against MS SQL 2005 Express Databases (Maybe the most common Database from the MS stable in use today in Home Development and Small Business environments). Using the wizards I went for the “all or nothing” approach of automatically selecting all columns in the required table, where needed I supplied a surrogate primary key based on a Numeric Type field. Due to fact that my remote tables contain non-English character types I had to make a named browse as the default browse (As in all A5 versions) returns a data array displaying non-English character sets as gibberish. Using this browse I set about updating “on the fly” data values. Even the most basic edit upon committing to save would result in a painful 3.5 minute wait until the sql action involved committed itself and returned control to the open browse. Fearing this to be an issue regarding language compatibility I began reverse engineering of the data and data structures involved.
After ”burnin the midnight oil” all week I have come to the conclusion (Based on previous experience using MS data engines )that, the culprit has nothing to do with character sets and data set page collation issues. I omitted from the active link definition the “*” (all) select and included only Numeric and Character type fields from the remote table (previous selection included Time type columns).
Building a named browse from the resulting active link table and then opening in edit mode I can very happily report that the commit action (F9) is instantaneous, less than 0.03 secs even on a busy server.
Now that’s over with I can get do to some serious testing with mapped tables based on two active link tables, so as to result in a single point of data entry for my application currently under development.
P.S. Alpha works with non-english character sets at the same level as most IDE non localised software, you just have to look beyond the basics so as to achieve the required result.

Selwyn Rabins
03-14-2008, 07:03 PM
In the past week I have made extensive tests using the Active link feature against MS SQL 2005 Express Databases (Maybe the most common Database from the MS stable in use today in Home Development and Small Business environments). Using the wizards I went for the “all or nothing” approach of automatically selecting all columns in the required table, where needed I supplied a surrogate primary key based on a Numeric Type field. Due to fact that my remote tables contain non-English character types I had to make a named browse as the default browse (As in all A5 versions) returns a data array displaying non-English character sets as gibberish. Using this browse I set about updating “on the fly” data values. Even the most basic edit upon committing to save would result in a painful 3.5 minute wait until the sql action involved committed itself and returned control to the open browse. Fearing this to be an issue regarding language compatibility I began reverse engineering of the data and data structures involved.
After ”burnin the midnight oil” all week I have come to the conclusion (Based on previous experience using MS data engines )that, the culprit has nothing to do with character sets and data set page collation issues. I omitted from the active link definition the “*” (all) select and included only Numeric and Character type fields from the remote table (previous selection included Time type columns).
Building a named browse from the resulting active link table and then opening in edit mode I can very happily report that the commit action (F9) is instantaneous, less than 0.03 secs even on a busy server.
Now that’s over with I can get do to some serious testing with mapped tables based on two active link tables, so as to result in a single point of data entry for my application currently under development.
P.S. Alpha works with non-english character sets at the same level as most IDE non localised software, you just have to look beyond the basics so as to achieve the required result.

We investigated another user's report of a slow update on a sql server table and found that v9 still had some debugging code turned on. when we fixed this, the updates on his database were essentially instantaneous.

it will be interesting to see when you get the next update, how this change affects your tests.

christobal
03-14-2008, 07:13 PM
Have just tried that!
No results! so I stand by my claim that the MS time stamp idiosyncrasy is best to be avoided if possible. The timestamp time fields on MS data structures sometimes contains a trailing "0" in a long time format string causing API result issues when attempting to include column of this type in SQL update events.

Selwyn Rabins
03-14-2008, 07:48 PM
Have just tried that!
No results! so I stand by my claim that the MS time stamp idiosyncrasy is best to be avoided if possible. The timestamp time fields on MS data structures sometimes contains a trailing "0" in a long time format string causing API result issues when attempting to include column of this type in SQL update events.


i don't understand your comment - we have not yet released the fix i was referring to - so how could you have tried it?

Richard Rabins
03-14-2008, 07:52 PM
P.S. Alpha works with non-english character sets at the same level as most IDE non localised software, you just have to look beyond the basics so as to achieve the required result.

If you can shed any light on this we can post it on our blog and other places to assist others - which i think would be very welcome to those users using Alpha Five with non English Charcter sets.

Thanks

christobal
03-14-2008, 08:02 PM
Am using
http://bellsinisrael.com/v9.jpg

Bill Griffin
03-15-2008, 08:50 PM
So have you tried the latest build?

Janet Park
03-18-2008, 03:39 PM
I, too, am having performance problems with active links. I am trying to do a wildcard select on 36 MySQL tables. Total size of all tables is < 1mb so database is not large. Linking starts and hangs at 2%. I checked memory (have 2 gb running on XP) and am at 100% with Alpha grabbing a huge chunk (93 mb). I am running Alpha Five V9 Build 1369, Sys Addins, Build 3159. I can add one table at a time without a problem.

Any ideas? I am running both Apache2.2 and A5 WAS V8 concurrently. Could there be a resource conflict?

Selwyn Rabins
03-18-2008, 03:51 PM
I, too, am having performance problems with active links. I am trying to do a wildcard select on 36 MySQL tables. Total size of all tables is < 1mb so database is not large. Linking starts and hangs at 2%. I checked memory (have 2 gb running on XP) and am at 100% with Alpha grabbing a huge chunk (93 mb). I am running Alpha Five V9 Build 1369, Sys Addins, Build 3159. I can add one table at a time without a problem.

Any ideas? I am running both Apache2.2 and A5 WAS V8 concurrently. Could there be a resource conflict?


'i am trying to do a wildard select on 36 tables' ???????

have no idea what this could possibly mean.

have you created a sql select that JOINS 36 tables? !!!! If so, it would be MYSQL that can't execute the query, not Alpha Five.

active-link tables are actually quite simple - they execute a query and retrieve data.

you should check that the sql select that you are asking it to do is 'reasonable' - which you can do using any query tool (such as MY SQL's own Query builder).

if the peformance of an active-link table seems slow, it is likely that the issue is not an a5 issue, but an issue with the backend database and the sql that you have defined.

Janet Park
03-18-2008, 05:59 PM
I have resolved the active links issue and it was a memory conflict on my machine. It had nothing to do with Alpha Five.

I confess I am falling in love with Active links. Now I can get "intimate" with my (MySQL) marketing data without getting bogged down in SQL query quagmires. The query builder alone is worth the price. I hate SQL.

I do a lot of legacy data transformations and data staging for business intelligence and data mining. When I capture marketing data from "the wild", it is NEVER ready to load directly into SAS, Cognos or my other BI tools. With Alpha Five, I can quickly and easily write operations to transform date fields, assign records to market segments, and classify records based on recency, frequency , monetary (RFM). Calculating lifetime value is a breeze.

Alpha Five gives me a real competitive advantage in analyzing marketing information. Sometimes I'm even hesitant to divulge my "secret." But then I remember, it's not what you've got, it's how you use it. Keep up the good work Alpha. You're not getting older, you're getting better! Can't wait for the official release of Version 9.

NoeticCC
03-18-2008, 06:07 PM
I have resolved the active links issue and it was a memory conflict on my machine. It had nothing to do with Alpha Five.

I confess I am falling in love with Active links. Now I can get "intimate" with my (MySQL) marketing data without getting bogged down in SQL query quagmires. The query builder alone is worth the price. I hate SQL.
I am pleased this has been resolved, as against an Oracle database I have found A5 queries faster than anything I've tried before! And I *like* SQL by and large but this is the first query builder that just seems to "do the trick" :)