PDA

View Full Version : Database API error


ABC123

Anis
03-25-2008, 01:16 PM
I'm trying to run a server side query in an active link table to the AS/400, and I'm getting an error of database API specific error. please see attached screen shot.
Does anyone know if this error is specific to how the SQL runs on the IBM AS/400 ?

Anis
03-27-2008, 07:03 PM
Selwyn

Is this something that could be fixed in the future?

NoeticCC
03-27-2008, 07:55 PM
I'm trying to run a server side query in an active link table to the AS/400, and I'm getting an error of database API specific error. please see attached screen shot.
Does anyone know if this error is specific to how the SQL runs on the IBM AS/400 ?

If I try to execute SOME portable A5 SQL on our Oracle DB it errors in similar ways - have you tried native syntax?

Anis
03-27-2008, 08:06 PM
I'm actually using the Genie to select fields from the files on the AS/400, I can't get further

NoeticCC
03-27-2008, 08:34 PM
I'm actually using the Genie to select fields from the files on the AS/400, I can't get further

As far as I'm aware the genie uses native syntax and depending on what sort of queries you run and so on (the join syntax doesn't work with our Oracle DB but that is partially down to the DB setup).

You might just want to read up on SQL for your database especially if it isn't listed among the supported ones

Anis
03-27-2008, 08:47 PM
Versiob 8 started out with the same problem, Selwyn then changed that and it worked.

Anis
03-27-2008, 08:47 PM
Sorry about the typing mistake I meant to say version 8

Al Buchholz
03-27-2008, 08:52 PM
You may have noticed that the message board allows an edit of a posting to occur for about 60 minutes after an initial posting. I've found that to very helpful when my digits are faster than my thoughts....

NoeticCC
03-28-2008, 05:44 AM
Versiob 8 started out with the same problem, Selwyn then changed that and it worked.

In that case I'd dig out your previous email to bug reports and submit a new one :)