PDA

View Full Version : Converting MS Access 2007 database to Alpha Five Ver 9


ABC123

chandran
03-28-2008, 01:05 PM
I have a few databases in Access 2007. I wish to convert them to Alpha Five Ver 9. I have previously converted Access 2003 databases to Alpha Five Ver 8. When I choose the option to import Access Databases Alpha Five Ver 9 gives only option to convert .mdb files. The new version of Access 2007 has .accdb format.

Is it possible to import .accdb files to Alpha Five Ver 9?

Bill Griffin
03-28-2008, 01:22 PM
You may be able to save it as an mdb file, but if you used features that only 2007 uses, you will not be able to. Go to file save as and choose the option for an access 2003-2003 database

popbop
06-23-2008, 01:57 PM
So this can be done? I'm considering switching to A5 from Access 2003 (I've been using Access to build some pretty sophisticated applications and servers)

Does A5 provide a wizard, genie, or other utility to convert?

If so, does it convert forms, reports, and queries, or just tables?

Thanks for your input.

JimboJr

Bill Griffin
06-23-2008, 02:35 PM
You can import tables from access. that's it. Forms, reports, etc, do not come over, just the tables and the data

DaveM
06-23-2008, 04:34 PM
Glad you are seeing the light.

Alpha, and most other real programming environments(I know alpha is a rad tool) that have a much stronger ability to manipulate data along with strength in so many more areas do not consider access enough of a competitor to build specific change overs. Also, the two products are worlds apart in how they are used and what they can do.

Example of this was about 10 years ago when a nationwide competitor with a huge clietele went out of business, we wrote a conversion program to bring his data into our program. It was worth it for us, but another small competitor want out about the same time and it was not worth while for us to convert. Not saying anything bad about access or microsoft. everything has it's place.

It is possible for you to progrmmatically change some of your stuff over. It would probably be easier to make a new form than to try and bring over a form from access.

You should be able to get a great deal of help from this message board as many here dealt with access at one time or other.


Hope it helps.


.

Bill Griffin
06-23-2008, 04:52 PM
It is possible for you to progrmmatically change some of your stuff over.


.

Dave,

Just curious. How would you do this?

Bill

DaveM
06-23-2008, 05:01 PM
Bill,

I wouldn't. I am sure someone on here could. Bet I could, but I don't want or need to spend the time getting there. There are too many differences between the programs to make it time efficient. One thing I might would try to do is copy and form I expecially liked, make it a background in Alpha so I could remake it easier. I believe a strong knowledge of the back of access would be necessary and each form, report etc would require a lot of coding to bring over. Just could not be efficient.

It would be faster and easier to just remake the application and do it stronger.

Dave

martinwcole
06-23-2008, 06:08 PM
Chadran, also look at the "export" options in Access 2007, and see if you can export to excel or to dbf. Then you could import.

Bill Griffin
06-24-2008, 09:11 AM
Dave,

It seemed from your response that this was something that you had done, or was easy to do for a new user. I would not even bother to think about how to do it, since I would think it was a waste of time. I didn't think there was an easy way to do this (if at all) and would require much more effort than it was worth. There are a lot of things that are "possible" to do but the effort involved would make it silly to even attempt it (IMHO But than again there are some people who would find this a challenge and would spend as much time to say they "did it" even though it would not be cost effective

Davidk
06-24-2008, 10:32 AM
From what I've seen so far Access and A5 are worlds apart. Getting the data over is simple. But, nothing else translates at all. The coding differences are just too big. I'm attempting a re-write in A5 of a VB/Access app. I understand the concepts of the code but trying to find the associated tools, calls, etc. in A5 is daunting. You have to move one small step at a time, get a piece of code to work and move on. Don't even look at the big picture... the overall app... just pick a piece and re-write. Not that this is bad... it's just learning an entire application programming language... same way we did for Access... a bit at a time.

So far, A5 has some nice behaviours - a lot less flickering going on, sub-forms and browses are more connected and need less refreshing.

Access has a nice programming interface which displays all your code... can't find the same in A5 - just one event at a time. While building a form in Access I'd reference the code, jump up and down through the code confirming names, variables etc. - can't do that so far in A5.

A5 response to bugs is staggering. Whereas it took MS months and months to correct a huge run-time problem (because the team was working on a release of Access we won't see for years), A5 will respond with fixes before I even know there's a problem.

If you're going to re-write, just take your time... I believe it's worth it in the end.

David

gmeredith17
06-24-2008, 11:06 AM
David,

You can have more than one events code open at the same time in the code editor. Each one has its own tab and you can switch between them as necessary. I know this isn't the same as access but I find it does help when needing to look at different variables or cut and paste sections of code.

Geoff

Davidk
06-24-2008, 11:08 AM
That will help, though... thank you so much.

Mike Wilson
06-24-2008, 12:30 PM
From what I've seen so far Access and A5 are worlds apart. Getting the data over is simple. But, nothing else translates at all. The coding differences are just too big. I'm attempting a re-write in A5 of a VB/Access app. I understand the concepts of the code but trying to find the associated tools, calls, etc. in A5 is daunting. You have to move one small step at a time, get a piece of code to work and move on. Don't even look at the big picture... the overall app... just pick a piece and re-write. Not that this is bad... it's just learning an entire application programming language... same way we did for Access... a bit at a time.

If you're going to re-write, just take your time... I believe it's worth it in the end.

David,
I am wondering if this is the right/best approach. Since A5 and Access ARE different, wouldn't you want a blueprint/strategy before engaging in conversion. It seems you might travel a programming path from Access that leads nowhere in A5, or more likely that A5 would have a different (easier) strategy to achieve. I am specifically thinking how Access performs queries so differently than A5, and A5's has set structures.

Maybe others can comment on this.

popbop
06-24-2008, 02:09 PM
David,
I am wondering if this is the right/best approach. Since A5 and Access ARE different, wouldn't you want a blueprint/strategy before engaging in conversion. It seems you might travel a programming path from Access that leads nowhere in A5, or more likely that A5 would have a different (easier) strategy to achieve. I am specifically thinking how Access performs queries so differently than A5, and A5's has set structures.

Maybe others can comment on this.

Wow. I had no idea I'd spark so much input to on old post like this. Thanks for all the input.

I'm getting the message that A5 does *not* provide a utility to convert Access database objects (forms, reports, queries). Data importing and conversion is one thing, and is workable. However, rebuilding a bunch of Access applications in A5 is a bit more daunting. It sounds like I'll have to bite the bullet and really get familiar with A5 to be informed enough to decide which, if any, Access applications could or should be ported.

Mike make a good point. Someone new to A5 needs to know the generally accepted migration strategy before recommending the switch to his or her management. There must be a best-practice established for Access to A5 conversions if as many people have switched from Access to A5 as the marketing people claim.

If the best practice is to convert data via mdb files or importing tables using excel or via ODBC queries, then rebuild the application front-end from scratch-- then so be it. I just would like to know the best approach from people with this experience.

Jimbo

Davidk
06-24-2008, 07:40 PM
I'd agree, to a point Mike... there's should be an overall review and plan. But, you'd really have to know A5 to catch all the mis-steps one would make and I don't think it's possible to know A5 (or anything else) without just jumping in.

For the project I'm converting I started with a blank form and added a number of the main functions I need - browses, links to other forms, lookups, images displays - just basic stuff. A form I created I based on one table... then I realized I needed to base it on a set. In Access I'd just change the RecordSource... done. I couldn't do this in A5 and sat wondering for some time until I found that you can copy the form - and thereby change the recordsource during the copy... done.

Maybe it's me... but I can't learn this stuff unless I need to do it. I know the app well but I'm sure I'll make some A5 structure errors. Just as well - I'll get to know A5 better.

If you've got deadlines... don't do it unless they're far reaching. That would drive me crazy. But getting to know A5 a bit at a time is good for this conversion and I can spend time finding the best way, in A5, to do something... but again, just one segment of the app at a time.

DaveM
06-24-2008, 09:33 PM
Bill & Ram,



It seemed from your response that this was something that you had done, or was easy to do for a new user. I would not even bother to think about how to do it, since I would think it was a waste of time. I didn't think there was an easy way to do this (if at all) and would require much more effort than it was worth. There are a lot of things that are "possible" to do but the effort involved would make it silly to even attempt it (IMHO But than again there are some people who would find this a challenge and would spend as much time to say they "did it" even though it would not be cost effective

It kinda is something I have done almost. Access database working on one form and successfully got it over with a lot of help from a more knowledgeable person than me(he did more of the breaking the code out than I did) until I realized I could make a form/report/etc faster from blank. It was nice to have the other forms to copy an look at so the were very similar though. Had a similar experience with vb on access database(hates mdb's). It was actually easier to remake though because similar structures were used for the tables and connections within the mdb were none. The connections between tables were done in vb code. Still, it was simpler and faster to learn and make alpha layouts than try to convert the other.

In short and supporting most other views on the forum and from experience, learn a5 and go forth. It is much easier. Besides, you would have to learn a5 even more trying to convert the others over.

Another point, with VB, you almost HAVE to have crystal reports to get the reporting power that comes with a5.



.