PDA

View Full Version : Append then Post to a record


ABC123

don parkman
04-20-2008, 07:20 PM
I have a master file with 2 fields in it, Shop_order_no and Qty_made. I append the Shop_order_no from a transaction file and then post the Qty_made from the same transaction file later. When I do the post, the Qty_made number gets added to the Shop_order_no field instead of the Qty_made field.
If I manually type in the Shop_order_no instead of using the append operation and then do the post operation, the post operation works properly.
I am new to A5 and am probably doing something stupid but I have burned a lot of time trying to figure it out myself and need some help.

Tom Cone Jr
04-20-2008, 08:20 PM
Use the "Manage Attachments" link to upload a zipped copy of your database. It's available if you click the "Go Advanced" button when editing a reply here. In your post tell us the specific sequence you're attempting using actual table, form, and button names. i.e. tell us how to find and trigger the fault you're seeing. Then tell us specifically the desired result you are shooting for.

don parkman
04-21-2008, 02:06 PM
I am trying to append a shop order number to field "Shop_no" in table "shop order-tot parts made" and in a later operation I want to post a quantity made to field "Tot_made" in the same table.
When I do the post operation, it posts the quantity made to the "Shop_no" field instead of the "Tot_made" field.

The sequence to get this error is:
- open form "Shop Order Form"
- on the tab labeled "Shop Order" fill in the form down to "Order_qty" and then push the button "Post Shop Order" . This button appends the "Shop_no" to the "shop order-tot parts made" table. (If you open the "shop order-tot parts made" table at this time, it shows the append has been done properly)
- click on the second tab "Qty Build" in the "Shop Order Form" and input say 600 in the Quantity Built field. Then push the "Post Qty Built" button. One of the operations this button performs is to post the Quantity Built to the field "Tot_made" in the "shop order-tot parts made" table. But, it post (adds) the Quantity Built to the field "Shop_no" instead of the field "tot_made.

If I manually input the "Shop_no" (say 10001) and "Parts_made" (say 600)fields in table "Shop_Order" and then run the append operation "ShopOrder-tot parts made" and then the post operation "ShopOrder to qty made" the post works fine.

Thanks for the help.

Stan Mathews
04-21-2008, 03:06 PM
shop order-tot parts made

does not follow recommended naming practices by including the dash/minus.

Am puzzled by you having the posting action on the button and also in a field rule for the parts made field in the shop order table.

See if my attachment works for you (confused as I am.)

Tom Cone Jr
04-21-2008, 04:39 PM
Don, saved operations are often used when you want Alpha Five to process a batch of records at a time. You can write simple xbasic scripts to manipulate individual records without using a saved operation. Depending on your background and experience you may find an xbasic, scripted, approach easier to maintain. If you are interested in this let us know.

-- tom

don parkman
04-22-2008, 09:18 AM
Stan - the dash in the table name was the problem. I eliminated the other 2 posts which were set up to try other approaches to solve the original problem. Thanks.

Tom - my experience with A5 is very limited. I started my first data base a couple of weeks ago and I would be interested in learning xbasic. What are your suggestions on where to start? Thanks

Tom Cone Jr
04-22-2008, 09:36 AM
Don, it really depends upon your experience with other programming or scripting languages. Tell us a bit about your background. -- tom

don parkman
04-22-2008, 10:47 AM
Tom, I have no experience with other programming or scripting languages. I purchased A5V9 to build an inventory system for my small business.

DaveM
04-22-2008, 11:00 AM
Don,

Been watching this post awhile.

Welcome to Alpha!

Satn and Tom really know their business around Alpha and other areas. You have the best helping you.

Some naming conventions I use(others can pitch in):

I try to stay with 8 letter folder names and no spaces or anything except letters in front and maybe a number on the end.

Fields and names in alpha, I do the same, but maybe 10 instead of 8. The shorter names really help when you are coding.

Think about what a field is going to be used for and if it is a field for doing math, it should be numeric. if it is not going to do math, it should be a character. Exceptions would be a date, memom, picture etc.

If you are not sure how long the space should be in a field, think of the longest you are sure will work and add 2. when doing numbers with decimals 10 with 2 decimals winds up as 7 numbers a period and 2 decimals. the period takes a space.

Hope this will help you gat a solid start.

Most of us came here and absorbed, then, when we got pretty good, we gave back.

don parkman
04-22-2008, 11:29 AM
Dave- thanks for the input. I am already into this project with longer table and field names but will use shorter ones on the next project. I did not know the period takes up a space. I will go back and increase the numeric field widths to account for this. Bear with me while I absorb and I will give back as soon as I know what I am doing. Thanks again.