PDA

View Full Version : Unable to install V9

ABC123

jmatienza
04-21-2008, 08:13 PM
Hi, all.

Just downloaded the V9 trial. But as the attachment shows, I was unable to install it. I thought you didn't need administrator rights to install V9. The funny thing is, I was an administrator when I tried to install it.

I'm running Windows XP SP2 Media Center Edition.

What do you think could be the problem?

Selwyn Rabins
04-21-2008, 08:23 PM
Hi, all.

Just downloaded the V9 trial. But as the attachment shows, I was unable to install it. I thought you didn't need administrator rights to install V9. The funny thing is, I was an administrator when I tried to install it.

I'm running Windows XP SP2 Media Center Edition.

What do you think could be the problem?

I have never seen this message before.

I would try downloading the a5v9 trial version, again. rebooting your computer. make sure that your account has administrator rights, and then try again.

jmatienza
04-22-2008, 02:07 AM
Thanks, Selwyn, for the suggestions. I've downloaded V9 again, rebooted, even created a new administrator account and tried to install from that. I've even uninstalled some "background" programs like Google Desktop and Vista Inspirat Bricopacks. Same result.

This is the second program I've seen this result with. The Rebol/View interpreter also refuses to install, although it can be run without installing.

This is a bit disheartening. Could it be an issue with Windows Media Center Edition?

Selwyn Rabins
04-22-2008, 08:44 AM
Thanks, Selwyn, for the suggestions. I've downloaded V9 again, rebooted, even created a new administrator account and tried to install from that. I've even uninstalled some "background" programs like Google Desktop and Vista Inspirat Bricopacks. Same result.

This is the second program I've seen this result with. The Rebol/View interpreter also refuses to install, although it can be run without installing.