PDA

View Full Version : HanDBase Active Link tables problems


ABC123

pboomwork
04-30-2008, 12:31 PM
I’ve been playing Version 9 and will mostly be buying it like every other version to date. I certainly will buy it if this can be resolved.

I was trying to set up an Active-link table using the base HandBase ODBC driver. I figured this would make a good way to get my ALPHA5 data onto a PDA. Handbase now supports 4 different platforms and has just had a major update with some cool new features, just like Alpha5.

When using the “Create Active-Link table’ Genie I am getting the following error each time the Genie attempts to retrieve a field list.

Could not get field list.
Error reported was:
Database API specific error [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Driver does not support this function
SQL State is: IM001 [HanDBase][HanDBase ODBC Driver] Option value changed.
SQL State is: 01S02

I suspect the Active-Link table could be set up without using the Genie, but I think that would be beyond abilities and available time to learn the required details.

In an attempt to make the problem reproduceable I’ve attached a very simple Handbase database (table). The demo download for HandBase Enterprise Edition which includes the ODBC Driver is available at;

http://www.ddhsoftware.com/demo.html?program=handbase4entpalm

The OBDC driver I am attempting to use is referred to as simply the ODBC driver. It allows other applications such as ALPHA5 to directly edit the HanDBase Desktop databases files. This data and changes are then synced to the PDA. This HanDBase must be configured in the ODBC Data Source Administrator to point to the actual file or folder with the HanDBase data files.

This ODBC driver is different from the ‘Sync Exchange for ODBC Database Programs’. Which I have attempted to use in the past but has many more issues, which I won’t go into here and are not ALPHA’s fault.

Some of the A5 SQL trace info regarding the errors is listed below. It appears the HanDBase ODBC driver doesn’t like the SQl syntax used by the Genies.


********************* START ExecuteQuery *********************
Portable SQL
----------- Portable SQL ----------
SELECT count(*) FROM Test

-------- Arguments -------
------ Call Result -------
============================
Call Result:
Syntax:
API:
ResultCode: 195
NativeCode: -1
NativeText: [HanDBase][HanDBase ODBC Driver] Invalid field name at position 14
SQL State is: 42000
Rows Affected: 0
----- Formatted Error Message -----
============================
********************* START ExecuteQuery *********************
Portable SQL
----------- Portable SQL ----------
SELECT count(*) FROM (SELECT * FROM Test) tempTableAlias
-------- Arguments -------
------ Call Result -------
============================
Call Result:
Syntax:
API:
ResultCode: 195
NativeCode: -1
NativeText: [HanDBase][HanDBase ODBC Driver] Table name expected at position 22
SQL State is: 42000
Rows Affected: 0
----- Formatted Error Message -----

JCabral
05-07-2008, 08:18 AM
Paul,

I have also been struggling with HanDbase with no success, I'm afraid. I just posted a message requesting any suggestions to sync a couple of A5 tables with a Window Mobile device.

The HanDbase tech support has spent hours with me on this but still no luck. I recently sent them my tables with some real data for them to test.

I can't believe that no one has figured this out yet. Seems like it would be a very common need among A5 users.

I'll post a message if I ever get things working with HanDbase. Else, I guess it's back to paper and pencil.

James

jkletrovets
05-07-2008, 08:38 AM
Paul

While it is not HanDBase - you might get some useful info from this thread that was just posted elsewhere.


http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/alphaforum/showthread.php?t=73293


Regards,

Jeff