PDA

View Full Version : Time it takes to Recalculating field rules


ABC123

Rokrz
01-21-2009, 10:25 AM
I am transitioning from Alpha 4 to Alpha 5 v9 Platinum. I have a database of about 35,000 records and 63 fields. The data resides on our server and the alpha 5 program is installed on a desktop. After getting the data into Alpha 5, I have added field rules and want to recalculate the field rules. This process takes about 30 to 45 minutes to complete.

Would performance be improved if I loaded the Aplha 5v9 software on the server?

MikeC
01-21-2009, 11:29 AM
I would say yes as any calculated fields over a network is inherently slow--I have found that on a standard 10/100 lan, what takes a couple of seconds on the desktop would take 3-4 minutes over the network. A gig network card would help also of course.....

Tom Cone Jr
01-21-2009, 12:28 PM
Robert, network optimizing the local workstation would help, too. Depending upon what your field rules do you might use a saved update operation more efficiently. i.e. disable the field rule, run the update operation, then enable the field rule for new records.