PDA

View Full Version : Barcode on V10 WAS


ABC123

bea2701
10-04-2009, 11:23 AM
Is there someone in the community with experience on using a Barcode with V10/V9 I am looking for a API of what so ever to work

Eric

Rich Hartnett
10-04-2009, 07:08 PM
Not sure exactly what you are looking for, but I've been using a "3 of 9" barcode (sometimes referred to as a "309") for years on traffic tickets in V8 and V9. I'll be doing the same thing as I convert them to V10.

In my case, I simply used a "3 of 9" font to have the correct barcode appear on the printed reports, citations, etc.

csda1
10-06-2009, 12:47 PM
Hi Eric,


Is there someone in the community with experience on using a Barcode with V10/V9 I am looking for a API of what so ever to work

The answer is yes, but it depends on what you want to do.

Generating the barcodes can be done. Generating them for web applications requires conversion to images for display or use in reports, as the barcode fonts are not always available to the end user.

Scanning Barcodes to an input field where the cursor is position can easily be done, without any coding. However, "intelligent" barcode scanning, where the scan itself invokes a process that has nothing to do with the current browser display for the web is much more difficult, as each browser is different enough to cause issues towards a generic solution.

You may also want to read my comments in this thread (http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/alphaforum/showthread.php?t=82027).

I have both barcode generation (Both Desktop & Web) and scanning routines (Desktop only), and am working towards the "intelligent" barcode scanning for the web, although that will probably not happen soon.

If you have interest in this contact me via email at the bottom, or via PM.

csda1
10-09-2009, 03:47 PM
If you are interested in using barcodes on the WAS (any version), I have placed a trial version of my barcode functions on my web site. Currently, the barcode scanning is not available for the WAS, but you can generate barcode images for displays and reports.

The trial version will return every other character of the barcode, but otherwise is not crippled. In test and graphic displays, you will see the full actual barcodes.

There are barcode scanning (for desktops) and Barcode creation (for desktop and web) functions, as well as very useful test modes useful for working with barcodes.

Currently, the only functions being made available are
Barcode() - used for scanning
Barcode_C128() - Used for creating any Barcode 128Additional barcode symbologies (starting with Code 39) will be made available upon request or as changes are made to incorporate user requests.

To install, just download the Self-Install Exe file, or use the Zip file. Unzip, and place the AEX in the FOLDER C:\Program Files\A5v10\Addins_Installed or similar. Then start up A5, and run the functions without arguments for the built-in documentation.

To download the Self-Install EXE file, Zip file (which includes the documentation), or to view the documentation, go to CSDA Barcode Page (http://www.csda1.com/csda_barcode/csda_barcode.html)

Comments and suggestions are welcome