PDA

View Full Version : Inserting .a5image images


ABC123

Pat Bremkamp
10-16-2009, 07:07 PM
This has been asked before, but after 3 hours of searching, I have to ask... (I think if we added up all the hours spent trying to find things in the help files without knowing the magic word...for example, "a5image" brings up useless help) we could double our productivity!

Anyway, you can tell I'm frustrated!:mad:

Somewhere, there are instructions on how to use the system images that come with Alpha. What I want to do is take the little question mark symbol and use in on my grids for a link to context sensitive help. All I need is a way to find and reference that symbol.

Yes, I have .a5image as an allowable file type in security.

Pat

Steve Wood
10-16-2009, 08:51 PM
You knew I would be forced to answer:).

In a V10 Grid, click the little Insert link under the Available Fields list.
Insert an Image.
Go to Image Definition.
Click Add Condition.
Make the Expression .t. if you want it to always appear (i.e., not conditional)
Go to Image Name, click Select.
Select Built-In Images.
And it's obvious from there.

I guess you would use the Javascript OnClick or OnMouseOver to add your help.

Pat Bremkamp
10-17-2009, 11:46 AM
Steve,

Thanks, that got me where I needed to go. What I really wanted to do was add the image to row labels where help was available. Then, I use the JavaScript onDblClick event to pop up a window with the help in it. That way I don't have to put a lot of extra fields in the grid.

From the "insert an image", I was able to get the image name. Then I guessed the path and syntax. When I tried putting it in the label, of course it failed, but it showed the little red X where the image should have been, and it was easy enough to look in the page source for that image to get the right syntax.

The correct syntax to add the question mark to a row label using the html editor screen is, for example:


Customer&nbsp;<img src=/images/$$generic.help.png.a5image />


The attached pic shows the result. I haven't decided if I'll leave it there, put it after the field, or maybe try it as a watermark label (that might be cool!)

Pat

Pat Bremkamp
10-17-2009, 12:11 PM
I tried the watermark approach. Putting the image html there just shows the html in the field, so that didn't work.

Then I tried putting the image as a background image for the watermark. I think that might work, but I wasn't able to figure out the relative path from the watermark field to the image, so I couldn't get it to work.

Has anyone put an image in a watermark?

(sounds like a job for Pete Conway - Mr. Image)

Pat

NoeticCC
10-17-2009, 06:37 PM
A rather long time ago I posted a little rubbishy desktop tool to download which generates the necessary codes... Was sometime shortly after v9 was released I think

Pat Bremkamp
10-19-2009, 07:34 PM
Well, after another full day "dwell(ing) on small details", (ten bonus points if you can name that song!) I was never able to make it work, but I've come up with a subsitute process.

Somewhere late last night I tried the conditional image as Steve suggested, and it worked unless I used as I needed it, which was muliple times on the same grid and inside a freeform area. My server protested that it couldn't find the images.

Your results may vary...according to Selwyn, it's just me...no one else has this problem.

Anyway, I found an image out on the internet which is almost as good and inserted a hyperlink instead of an image. With this, I was able to do what I needed. See the pictures.

I used the image instead of text for the hyperlink label and the JavaScript on click event of the hyperlink to pop up the help text.

Now...on to bigger things!

Pat

Editor
10-19-2009, 10:07 PM
Pat I empathize with you. I have just crossed my first anniversary and too am frustrated by the hours spent searching for answers. I can count days striving to either find the solution, or digest and understand the process. Try that Alpha is not the "toy" that other database systems are. Access and Filemaker are a breeze, but don't have the ultimate flexibility that Alpha offers us.

So, as I start my second year, I hope progress gains efficiency, and THANKS to everyone here who steps in, hides their "nuther newbee" frustrations, and pitches in to help. Sometimes the answer only helps to confuse, but at least you all help.

My 1st 'real" project hit the street today and my customer (internal) is happy as a clam.

Someday - I hope I am qualified to offer help here too. :)