PDA

View Full Version : SQL Database

ABC123

Bill Broyles
02-02-2010, 09:06 PM
Finally sat down with my prospect and agreed on a price for me to develop a web app in A5V10 and I now have the check in my hot hands to purchase V10.

Now I have to decide which database to use with V10. This is going to be a charity auction, where donations are made for bidders to bid on.

Should I stick with dbf tables, or use the new SQL databases like MS-SQL, Oracle, MySQL or ???

Is there some reason NOT to use these FREE versions? We want anyone that wants to donate, or bid to have access to the web site. Because there could be many, is there some limit on the number of people that could access the database?

TIA
Bill

seaken64
02-03-2010, 12:55 PM
I'm not a professional developer and there are smarter people than me here to help you. But the first thing that comes to my mind is how you will set up the server. Do you already have a server? Are you the server admin? Will you pay for hosting services somewhere else?

I think my server choices would dictate what database formats I would choose. If I have my own server I can use WAS and I may chose to stay with the built-in DBF file formats. If I am renting server space I may not be able to load A5 WAS and may choose to use mySQL or SQLServer, etc.

Sean

Bill Broyles
02-03-2010, 04:09 PM
I program from my house, but I have an office downtown and my Son handles support and maintains our Windows server. He sells some boxed software that uses iAnywhere or something like that. Has been Extended Systems, and some other name. It is Medisoft and they have changed hands 5 time since we got involved. My Clipper app reads print images from their software, and reformats it to the new ANSI 837 format for electronic claims,( fifth format since 1991). We have sold software to over 900 doctors, but our customer base is dwindling down each year so I'm looking at other markets.