PDA

View Full Version : Converting from Access to A5v10

ABC123

pzieper
08-05-2010, 06:30 PM
I have spent the last couple of days reading blogs, websites, whitepapers and watching countless videos about A5. Even after doing so I still have many unanswered questions.

I have been programming for 20 years with the last 15 using Access & FileMaker Pro. I was just about to set up a sharepoint server to use with Access 2010 when I started to read up on Alpha 5. This database might do the trick in a very cost-effective manner.

My questions are as follows.

1a. How many concurrent users can access a web database?
1b. What are the cause of the limitations (if there are any)?

2a. How many users can access a local desktop copy?
2b. What are the cause of the limitations (if there are any)?

3. What are the hardware/software requirements for a web server?

4. What are the hardware/software requirements for desktop development?

5. I currently have an access database running for 26 users in a local office. My client has asked me if the entire database functionality can be ported to a web environment for up to 400 concurrent users. I don't want to create a "website", i just want to be able to do the same things the database does locally, but via a web browser. Will A5 allow me to do this?

6. I noticed you can download a 30 day trial of A5, but how am i meant to test the web portion (which is what i mainly need) if it is not available on a 30 day trial? I dont want to purchase it, only to find out that it does not do what's required.

MY BASIC GOAL:
If anyone is familiar with Access 2010 (sharepoint) and FileMaker Pro (IWP) ...both have features where you develop your page layout and then publish it. They dynamically become web pages that look exactly the same as the desktop layout you created, and function the same way. Will I be able to do this with A5?

Thank you...here's hoping A5 can do it!

Peter.Greulich
08-05-2010, 07:10 PM
MY BASIC GOAL: