PDA

View Full Version : Installing Patches


ABC123

Al Lipsky
03-16-2011, 07:12 PM
Where exactly are the patches being opened to?
When I install the patches I cannot find location it is in.
I am looking for the latest a5v10.exe that was just installed.
Thanks for help

Peter.Greulich
03-16-2011, 07:22 PM
It depends upon which OS you have. In XP it would typically be in: C:\Program Files\a5V10

When you install a patch, there is nothing to see. It just updates the program files.

Al Buchholz
03-16-2011, 07:27 PM
Al

Sounds like you installed the regular install and now want to patch. Perhaps a new computer or hard drive?

1. Install the original installation.
2. Run Alpha once - this will create entries in the registry for Alpha
3. Close Alpha
4. Run the patch and then the registry will tell you where Alpha is installed to...

If your situation is something else, then please describe it in detail.

Al Lipsky
03-16-2011, 07:31 PM
Thanks for suggestions so fast.
What were you guys doing? Just waiting for me?
I am using WIN 7 64
Al

Al Buchholz
03-16-2011, 07:46 PM
Al

I always answer questions quickly for someone with a brilliant name like 'Al' ;)

So did that do it for you?

installing on Win 7 should be easy. I've been running a Win 7 - 64 bit for a year and it's great!

Al

Al Lipsky
03-16-2011, 11:53 PM
no Al it did not do trick.
I still do not know where it was sent to...

Al Lipsky
03-17-2011, 05:05 AM
This is what I did.
I had copys of Alpha in different directories on C.
I then dedicated a clean new drive F and am trying to use that drive only.
I did reinstall A5V10 developer on F drive.
I even copied the CD to my F drive and installed from there, OK.
After downloading current patch, I am still seeing old wrong update.
Again where should I look for the current patch that was installed?
Thanks again
Al

Clipper87
03-17-2011, 08:29 AM
Al,

If you did not uninstall the versions on the C: drive then probably one of those is being patched. You could try temporarily renaming the directories where you installed Alpha previously so that only the Alpha directory on drive F: remains the same. Then run the patch & see what happens.

I do wonder however what happens if you have multiple installs on a machine; in W7 there's the hidden directory C:\Users\yourusername\AppData\Roaming\Alpha Software\Alpha Five Version 10 where personal data is saved (like recent databases etc) that may be version related (don't know) I'd carefully check that out first.