PDA

View Full Version : Table Array Variables

ABC123

jackp_MDB
04-07-2011, 05:28 PM
I'm new to Alpha 5. My old DB required me to specify a field was an array by dimensioning it as such in the table. I can not find this or the method to do this in the documentation. Wiki describes how to use xbasic to work arrays, but what do I have to do/how do I store these in a table?

NoeticCC
04-08-2011, 11:24 AM
What kind of database was this? I've never heard of such a thing being defined for a database field

Stan Mathews
04-08-2011, 11:52 AM
There is no array field type in Alpha.

You could have an entire table to hold an array and you could save the array to a file for later retrieval.

I suppose you could also save an array to a memo field and retrieve it from that field.

Tim Kiebert
04-09-2011, 12:30 AM
What kind of database was this? I've never heard of such a thing being defined for a database field
Filemaker Pro has something similar. It has the ability to specify a field as repeating. Which is basically allowing multiple values in the one field, which could be classed as an array.

Multiple values in a field breaks the first rule of database normalization thereby greatly impairing the relational aspect of the database.

jackp_MDB
04-16-2011, 11:10 AM

I use Clarion for most of my work. When defining the fields in their "table designer," after setting the field type, for example a dBase3 table with a field defined as an integer, I then have the option of "dimensioning" that field. It becomes part of the tables definitions, and subsequently I must state/index which "hole" I'm saving the data in when I update that field.

I see no such item in Alpha...If I wanted to store an array within the "dbf" table that I create in Alpha...how do I do that? Mutiple individual fields?