Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

    Pete,
    Thanks...that's very helpful. I've looked at that screen three times but didn't see that until you pointed it out! Hiding in plain sight.

    David,
    I see what you mean so I've done a little and it is a little better. I'll do more when I get a bit more time. I appreciate that you are a perfectionist; it's what makes you such a good benefit to this board.
    Pat Bremkamp
    MindKicks Consulting

    Comment


    • #17
      Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

      List switch now works well in Build 6077 5356 01 Sep-2019 - 10:45 PM
      Click Image


      Capture.PNG
      Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
      Albert Einstein, (attributed)
      US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

      Comment


      • #18
        Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

        I haven't seen a problem. Was it not working well in some other release?

        Comment


        • #19
          Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

          None of my previous tests using the in-place editing switch worked correctly until this build, anyhow works well now and submits the data to the database on switching.

          Cheers.
          Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
          Albert Einstein, (attributed)
          US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

          Comment


          • #20
            Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

            There isn't a Switch Control Type for In-Place Editing. There is the List Switch Control Type... which has always worked... and continues to work when In-Place Editing is used.

            The List Switch Control Type is always available for editing... as opposed to the Control Types available for In-Place Editing which allow edits only when In-Place Editing is activated.

            There must have been something else wrong with your UX or List Control or your database if the List Switch Control Type wasn't working for you.

            Cheers.

            Comment


            • #21
              Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

              Thanks Pete and Dave. To me, the most important point is the switch can now be used with confidence. I didn't test it prior to finding out how to resize the switch, so I don't know the history. The on/off values are set right in the switch, so I use a tinyint field, default value of 0 and on value of 1. In my testing, it is working great.
              Pat Bremkamp
              MindKicks Consulting

              Comment


              • #22
                Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                I sent a bug report about the icon name field for the cancel icon field. The correct icon shows in the list and you can select an icon and it will show correctly, so it is just the display in the property sheet.
                Pat Bremkamp
                MindKicks Consulting

                Comment


                • #23
                  Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                  Wow! Fixed and enhanced with bubble help in 18 minutes... Those are two new records for response to a bug report and for an enhancement request.
                  Last edited by Pat Bremkamp; 09-03-2019, 11:48 AM.
                  Pat Bremkamp
                  MindKicks Consulting

                  Comment


                  • #24
                    Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                    I hear you Pat... I know what you're saying... 18 mintues... that's excellent. But... yes there is a but... and I don't want to start anything... but... if just a bit of testing was done... it would have saved your time and more of Alpha's time.

                    As for the List Switch control... I'm not sure what Peter is talking about... maybe a problem with his List specifically. The List Switch Control type has been good the day it came out.

                    Comment


                    • #25
                      Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                      Beware pre-release build labelled as 6082. It's actually 6081 and produces some really weird results when using in-line editing... and when trying to sync.

                      Under working preview, a new row is white on white regardless of your style. A row error appears... and this error is the result of a sync.

                      Code:
                      <!DOCTYPE html>
                      <html><head>
                      <title>500 Internal Server Error</title>
                      </head><body>
                      <h1>500 Internal Server Error</h1>
                      <b>Script Error</b><br />Error:Script:a5DialogHelper_ListViewData() line:799<br/>
                      Exception executing XBasic LOOP instruction
                      <p>
                      <hr>
                      <address>Alpha Anywhere Development Server/12.0 Build/6081-5356 at SKULLCANYON Port 1580</address>
                      </body></html>

                      Comment


                      • #26
                        Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                        Might have been my local build, but I have noticed the presentation and the submit process just feels more solid, all positive steps.
                        Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                        Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                        US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                        Comment


                        • #27
                          Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                          David, I get that error on 6077 as well, but I can still use Working Preview and keep working on my app.
                          Pat Bremkamp
                          MindKicks Consulting

                          Comment


                          • #28
                            Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                            I reported this and was told it was me, and that I must have changed the css, not so, anyhow the fix (I figured for now) is to copy the css for the style from the root css in the program directory into the local directory css folder and set the properties of the ux to use it. Not ideal but it lets you keep developing.
                            Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                            Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                            US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                            Comment


                            • #29
                              Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                              I am already using a local css, one of the Alpha-xxxx css, and I do have other css libraries that are being used, but I think they are all old like grblue.

                              On my machine, the "LOOP..." error talks about the extended user security info, which I don't use.
                              Pat Bremkamp
                              MindKicks Consulting

                              Comment


                              • #30
                                Re: Lets do what we can do in the in-place editing

                                The loop error no longer affects me in release 6085
                                Pat Bremkamp
                                MindKicks Consulting

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X