Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

How do you reference fields on a dialog?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    How do you reference fields on a dialog?

    What is the correct way to reference fields on a dialog to use in an update statement. I want to take the date value from a dialog control and use that in the update statement. The dialog is not data bond. I have tried various ways, but I keep getting the error "not a valid entry handle". here is the code, where "ref_date" is the name of the variable (control) in the dialog.
    Code:
    sql command = "update products set sale_flag= If(session.ref_date >= SALE_BEGIN_DATE and session.ref_date<=SALE_END_DATE,'Sale','');"
    Last edited by richardurban; 10-02-2013, 02:19 PM.
    Richard Urban

    Grocery Delivery Software for Stores and Entrepreneurs: http://www.urbangrocery.com

    #2
    Re: How do you reference fields on a dialog?

    In either the onDialogValidate event or your own Ajax Callback you'd reference the 'e' object... as in...

    Code:
    e.dataSubmitted.CUSTOMERID
    holds the value for the CustomerId control on your UX

    Whenever in doubt, put a debug(1) statement into your code and then when you run your code and you're in the debugger, enter 'e' - without quotes - in the data entry box below the heading "Expression"

    That will show you what's contained in the e object.

    You'll need to either concatenate your sql statement together (yuck) or use sql arguments (yay).

    If you're not sure about sql arguments do a search in this forums for the keyword args with the username davidk. I remember writing a lot of samples using args.

    Comment


      #3
      Re: How do you reference fields on a dialog?

      This works fine in Heidi SQL
      Code:
      Dim cn as sql::connection 
      
      
      flag = cn.open("::Name::urbangrocery")
      dim sqlCommand as c
      
      sql command = "update products set current_price= If('2013-10-02'>=SALE_BEGIN_DATE and '2013-10-03'<=SALE_END_DATE,SALE_PRICE,NPRICE2);"
      flag = cn.execute(sqlCommand)
      But causes the error "Not a valid entry handle" when run in Alpha:updateprod error1.JPG
      Can anyone help with this problem? I thought the issue was the variable, but even with the hard coded value, I get this error.
      Richard Urban

      Grocery Delivery Software for Stores and Entrepreneurs: http://www.urbangrocery.com

      Comment


        #4
        Re: How do you reference fields on a dialog?

        Hey Richard,

        I can't see how that would work in any SQL interface. But... if you mean that the actual sql statement...

        Code:
        update products set current_price= If('2013-10-02'>=SALE_BEGIN_DATE and '2013-10-03'<=SALE_END_DATE,SALE_PRICE,NPRICE2)
        works... then yes... I get that. It looks a bit backward to me... but what the heck... it works.

        The only problem is your assignment of the sql statement to the variable.

        You have sqlcommand dimmed, but you're assigning the statement to sql command, and then executing sqlcommand.

        This is where I'd hit my keyboard with my head

        Comment


          #5
          Re: How do you reference fields on a dialog?

          Unless it is forum typo you have a space between 'sql' and 'command' in the assignment line

          sql command = "update products set current_price= If('2013-10-02'>=SALE_BEGIN_DATE and '2013-10-03'<=SALE_END_DATE,SALE_PRICE,NPRICE2);"
          Edit: Just too slow :)
          Tim Kiebert
          Eagle Creek Citrus
          A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

          Comment


            #6
            Re: How do you reference fields on a dialog?

            Tim, you are right. That space was causing the error message. Ooops!
            Richard Urban

            Grocery Delivery Software for Stores and Entrepreneurs: http://www.urbangrocery.com

            Comment


              #7
              Re: How do you reference fields on a dialog?

              Oh good. Actually David beat me to the punch. :-)
              Tim Kiebert
              Eagle Creek Citrus
              A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

              Comment


                #8
                Re: How do you reference fields on a dialog?

                Yes, thank you David, also.
                Regarding the original question of referencing the variable in the dialog, the following function now works:
                Code:
                function setcurrentprice as c (e as p)
                	
                Dim cn as sql::connection 
                Dim args as SQL::Arguments
                args.set("ref_date",convert_type(e.datasubmitted.ref_date,"D"))
                flag = cn.open("::Name::urbangrocery")
                dim sqlCommand as c
                sqlCommand ="update products set sale_flag='';"
                flag = cn.execute(sqlCommand)
                
                sqlcommand = "update products set sale_flag= If(:ref_date >= SALE_BEGIN_DATE and :ref_date <= SALE_END_DATE,'Sale','');"
                flag = cn.execute(sqlCommand,args)
                
                sqlcommand = "update products set current_price= If(:ref_date >= SALE_BEGIN_DATE and :ref_date <= SALE_END_DATE,SALE_PRICE,NPRICE2);"
                flag = cn.execute(sqlCommand,args)
                
                sqlcommand = "update products set new_field1 = if(unit='',cast(CURRENT_PRICE as char),CONCAT_WS(cast(CURRENT_PRICE as char),'/',unit))"
                flag = cn.execute(sqlCommand)
                
                cn.Close()
                end function
                A couple of notes: You need to be sure to include a space before and after the <= operator, and you need to convert the data submitted type to date.
                Richard Urban

                Grocery Delivery Software for Stores and Entrepreneurs: http://www.urbangrocery.com

                Comment

                Working...
                X