Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Filter list in embedded list control

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Filter list in embedded list control

    Simple but I cant find it anywhere, I have a UX with and Embedded UX that contains a list control, I'd like to filter the list when the panel is opened.

    Tried these from videos showing similar, doesn't work:

    function setFilter () {
    {dialog.EmbeddedGrid_ORDERSEMBEDDED}.gridBaseFilterSet('StageID <> 1');
    }

    var co = {dialog.object}.getChildObject('Orders');
    {dialog.object}._filterList(SoftwareOrders,StageID <> '1');


    Tried javascript to run after ux embedded is loaded with this:

    {dialog.object}._filterList('Orders','StageID <> 1');
    Last edited by stewx; 07-31-2014, 10:33 PM.

    #2
    Re: Filter list in embedded list control

    You just have to get the syntax right for referring to a child object.

    And... you have to give the UX a second to render everything.

    Code:
    setTimeout(function(){
    
    var cObj = {dialog.Object}.getChildObject('MYCHILDLIST','UX');
    cObj._filterList('LISTCHILD','customer_id <> 1');
    
    },500);
    This code sets a pointer to the Embedded UX... which has a specific ALIAS of MYCHILDLIST. You set the Alias in the Parent Embedded Object control.

    Once you have cObj child object, you run your _filterList method on it.

    The Child UX has a List control named 'LISTCHILD'.

    Then, wrap everything in a setTimeout function. In this case it's set to run half a second after the UX renders. Play with the time to get it to work best for you.

    I've got this running in the Client-side onRenderComplete event.

    Comment


      #3
      Re: Filter list in embedded list control

      thanks! Problem tho, I have everything in your example, put it in the javascript section on the left of the parent ux.

      Getting error "object does not support property or method "_filterList"

      I have the alias set up, do capital letters matter in the child ux name and list name? my list name is camel case but the alias is all caps.

      also, i tried this directly in the child ux, left side main javascript section:

      {dialog.object}._filterList('MyOrdersList','StageID = 1');
      On this I get a syntax error (my list is called 'MyOrdersList' and I want to filter on StageID)

      If I run the filter in the list properties filter option it works: StageID = '1'
      Last edited by stewx; 08-01-2014, 08:40 AM.

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Filter list in embedded list control

        Is the setTimeout in place? If not, then when the code is in the onRenderComplete event, the code runs before the embedded object is actually embedded. There is not object to run the _setFilter on.

        Instead of the Javascript section, put your filter code into a button click event in your child ux. That's actually where I started to ensure all was ok.

        Case doesn't seem to matter.

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Filter list in embedded list control

          It looks like a syntax error, I did the button method and it comes back as: invalid column name 'StageID'

          here is what I'm using:

          {dialog.object}._filterList('MyOrdersList','StageID = 1');

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Filter list in embedded list control

            Here is the answer, after hours and much trial and error, hopefully this helps someone:

            {dialog.object}._filterList('MyOrdersList','StageID = 1','','');

            Need the "","" placeholders for the other parameters not used.
            Last edited by stewx; 08-01-2014, 07:28 PM.

            Comment


              #7
              Re: Filter list in embedded list control

              That's odd for two reasons. I am not supplying the unused parameters and it's working for me. Normally, you don't need to supply the balance of parameters. E.g. If you use parameters 1,2,3,6,7 then you must supply 4 and 5. You can't skip parameters in between used params. But, if you don't use 4,5,6,7 then you only need to supply 1,2,3.

              At any rate, glad it's working for you.

              Comment

              Working...
              X