Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Report Based on a Set

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Report Based on a Set

    I have a simple set based on three tables. The two child tables appear on a report as sub-reports.

    The report prints fine as long as there are records in either of those child tables which are linked to the parent record
    using a single linking key field, but if both of the child tables (sub-reports) are blank, the overall report won't print.

    The response is "Report does not contain any records."

    I can't recall ever having this problem before with sub-reports so I'm sure I have something set wrong, but so far
    I haven't been able to see anything that looks unusual.
    Attached Files
    Sergeant Richard Hartnett
    Hyattsville City Police Department
    Maryland

  • #2
    Re: Report Based on a Set

    What is the filter for the report?
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
    "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
    Albert Einstein

    http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Report Based on a Set

      Make sure you're doing a left outer join when joining the two child tables.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Report Based on a Set

        Hi Al,
        The majority of the data in the report all comes from the parent table, and when the user clicks on an action button on a web grid, it filters the report to the linking key of that particular record in that parent table. The two child tables also use that same linking key to display additional data.

        Hi Josh,
        I don't think I understand what "left outer join" means for linking to child tables. Can you elaborate?
        Sergeant Richard Hartnett
        Hyattsville City Police Department
        Maryland

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Report Based on a Set

          When you join the child tables to the parent you specify the type of join. By default it's an inner join. Try changing it to left outer join.
          Last edited by coleresources; 08-07-2015, 01:39 AM.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Report Based on a Set

            Probably need an example posted....
            Al Buchholz
            Bookwood Systems, LTD
            Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

            Occam's Razor - KISS
            Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
            Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
            When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
            "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
            Albert Einstein

            http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Report Based on a Set

              Rich, Josh is talking SQL - ignore if you're using dbf.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Report Based on a Set

                Oh okay that makes sense. Yes I am using DBF tables.

                Al does this help?
                Attached Files
                Last edited by Rich Hartnett; 08-07-2015, 05:03 PM.
                Sergeant Richard Hartnett
                Hyattsville City Police Department
                Maryland

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Report Based on a Set

                  Originally posted by Rich Hartnett View Post
                  Oh okay that makes sense. Yes I am using DBF tables.

                  Al does this help?
                  No
                  Al Buchholz
                  Bookwood Systems, LTD
                  Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

                  Occam's Razor - KISS
                  Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
                  Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
                  When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
                  "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
                  Albert Einstein

                  http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Report Based on a Set

                    Okay. Al here are the files. You'll see that the first sample entry, which has data in both child tables prints correctly, but the second sample entry (which has no child data) says "No records found" when trying to print.

                    Thanks for taking a look at this.
                    Attached Files
                    Sergeant Richard Hartnett
                    Hyattsville City Police Department
                    Maryland

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Report Based on a Set

                      Rich

                      You have a good one.

                      It's acting unexpectedly for me.

                      Still looking for a way to make it work with out extra records in the child tables.
                      Al Buchholz
                      Bookwood Systems, LTD
                      Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

                      Occam's Razor - KISS
                      Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
                      Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
                      When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
                      "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
                      Albert Einstein

                      http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Report Based on a Set

                        Well I'm glad to know I'm not the only one!

                        Thanks Al. The weird thing is that I have many other sets such as this one with printed reports using sub-reports for the child tables, and have never run into a problem when the child table had no linked records.

                        I appreciate any assistance you can give me, as I have no hair left on my head to pull out. (LOL)
                        Sergeant Richard Hartnett
                        Hyattsville City Police Department
                        Maryland

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Report Based on a Set

                          Rich

                          A couple of things to do to make this work.

                          Looks like the problem is where the filter for the child tables is placed.

                          Instead of putting them in the subreport properties, they work if put into the set filter.

                          Then the subreport properties can default to filter on the appropriate table.

                          Also in the report, since you are using subreports, you need to group on the linkingkey (or some unique number in the table) and use a header at that group.

                          Attached is a new set that you can add to your database and have a working report.

                          Be aware of an issue with the filter of the report keeping the filter passed to it when you modify the report.

                          Your report had a filter of linkingkey = "000000" which didn't help, but wasn't the primary problem.

                          Unzip this file and place the files in the workspace directory. Then add the set to the workspace.

                          caset1tomany.zip

                          and now my hair is gone too.
                          Al Buchholz
                          Bookwood Systems, LTD
                          Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

                          Occam's Razor - KISS
                          Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
                          Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
                          When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
                          "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
                          Albert Einstein

                          http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Report Based on a Set

                            Thank you ever so much Al.

                            I followed your advice and copied your set and now it works perfectly!

                            And oh yeah, sorry about the hard-coded filter of "Linkingkey = "000000." I had put that in there so I could test the report right from the design mode without having to go back and open it from the web grid, and I forgot to remove it before zipping up the file to send to you.

                            I'm sure there was some cussing of my name when you found that during your troubleshooting. LOL
                            Last edited by Rich Hartnett; 08-10-2015, 11:32 AM.
                            Sergeant Richard Hartnett
                            Hyattsville City Police Department
                            Maryland

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Report Based on a Set

                              NO cussing. It looked like something I'd do, so I found it early in the process.

                              Hope that works for you.

                              It's OK if the set only contains the report.

                              There have been a few times that I have a single purpose set.

                              And now I try to do most everything in a set, even if it's a single table set.
                              Al Buchholz
                              Bookwood Systems, LTD
                              Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

                              Occam's Razor - KISS
                              Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
                              Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
                              When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
                              "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
                              Albert Einstein

                              http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X