Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

SQL ToString() Command

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    SQL ToString() Command

    Hi,
    I have this short routine to try to put data into a string 'without' the Tab character.
    Commands for pulling info the mysql table are:

    QRY = "SELECT * FROM 1099T"
    cn_exec = cn.Execute(qry)
    rs = cn.ResultSet
    datastring = rs.ToString()

    This all works, BUT, the data string looks like this:
    T 2015 861111111 88888
    I need it to look like this:
    T201586111111188888

    H

    Anyone know how do get rid of the 'tab' character in the string?

    Thanks,
    Mike
    Mike Reed
    Phoenix, AZ

    #2
    Re: SQL ToString() Command

    Try
    Code:
    cn.resultset.toString(-1,-1,.F.,"")

    Comment


      #3
      Re: SQL ToString() Command

      you could use remspecial too
      datastring =remspecial(rs.ToString())
      should work.
      thanks for reading

      gandhi

      version 11 3381 - 4096
      mysql backend
      http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
      [email protected]
      Skype:[email protected]
      1 914 924 5171

      Comment


        #4
        Re: SQL ToString() Command

        Thanks,
        Neither of the options will work because they delete out all the spaces. The spacing is important. This is a file going to the IRS. Fields are defined by which column they start in.

        In the sample below here is how it works
        Column 1 = Record Type
        Column 2-5 = Calendar Year
        Column 6 = blank
        Column 7-37 = Business name
        etc.

        T2009 86111111137888 BUSINESS NAME DBA BUSINESS NAME BUSINESS NAME DBA

        The tables are all character fields so that leading zeros can be in place, the field type is C and each one is exactly the length is needs to be for each field. So I have to be able to take each field in its entirety and place it into a text file to send the IRS.

        Thanks for your advice.

        Mike
        Mike Reed
        Phoenix, AZ

        Comment


          #5
          Re: SQL ToString() Command

          This all works, BUT, the data string looks like this:
          T 2015 861111111 88888
          I need it to look like this:
          T201586111111188888

          Neither of the options will work because they delete out all the spaces
          they both answered the question you asked, not what you wanted.
          however if the table contains the data you want and the result set to string may not be the one you need but you can fashion an output from result set itself
          for example
          dim txtToSendToIRS as c
          txtToSendToIRS = rs.data(1) + " " + rs.data(2) + " " + rs.data(3) ... etc
          or
          txtToSendToIRS = rs.data("company") + " " + rs.data("field_name") + .... etc.,
          since the data coming to you is exactly the length you want then you don't need to pad it or you can pad the desired length and format the string.
          thanks for reading

          gandhi

          version 11 3381 - 4096
          mysql backend
          http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
          [email protected]
          Skype:[email protected]
          1 914 924 5171

          Comment


            #6
            Re: SQL ToString() Command

            Can you pull it out of SQL like this? "Select concat(RecordType,CalYear,space(1),'86111111137888',space(1),BusinessName)"

            Comment


              #7
              Re: SQL ToString() Command

              I love your attention to detail Govindan
              Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
              Albert Einstein, (attributed)
              US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

              Comment


                #8
                Re: SQL ToString() Command

                Thank you all for replying. There are actually 6 different files that I have to pull information from and most of them have upwards of 50 fields. So I could use the methods described above. But because spacing is critical it makes it difficult to get everything perfect. When the IRS does file format changes, then it means a lot of work to reformat. Add to that some very long code sequences. So what I decided to do, was to import the data into .dbf tables. Each field in the table is the exact length it needs to be for the file. From there I can use the simple export to table operation and get exactly what I needed.

                Didn't really want to do that, as I wanted to keep everything in MySQL tables. But the old .dbf tables along with some Alpha functions made the process much easier to write and to maintain for the future.

                Thanks again,
                Mike Reed
                Phoenix, AZ

                Comment


                  #9
                  Re: SQL ToString() Command

                  Originally posted by peteconway View Post
                  I love your attention to detail Govindan
                  thanks, pete, very nice of you.
                  have a great day.
                  thanks for reading

                  gandhi

                  version 11 3381 - 4096
                  mysql backend
                  http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                  [email protected]
                  Skype:[email protected]
                  1 914 924 5171

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Re: SQL ToString() Command

                    Originally posted by Mike Reed View Post
                    Thank you all for replying. There are actually 6 different files that I have to pull information from and most of them have upwards of 50 fields. So I could use the methods described above. But because spacing is critical it makes it difficult to get everything perfect. When the IRS does file format changes, then it means a lot of work to reformat. Add to that some very long code sequences. So what I decided to do, was to import the data into .dbf tables. Each field in the table is the exact length it needs to be for the file. From there I can use the simple export to table operation and get exactly what I needed.

                    Didn't really want to do that, as I wanted to keep everything in MySQL tables. But the old .dbf tables along with some Alpha functions made the process much easier to write and to maintain for the future.

                    Thanks again,
                    i am glad that you got it sorted out, but still to me it is confusing. the computers are here to do the boring job of doing repeated tasks, it looks like you are doing all manual. while it is your decision i am wondering.
                    the result set is coming from the sql query.
                    and you know you can convert that to a string. now the problem is to format that string to IRS liking.
                    so why not do the following:
                    use remspecial to remove all tabs. now you have one long string without any spaces.
                    write an xbasic function that will take the string as an input and output the string the formatted way IRS wants using any of the string formatting function alpha provides, like word, substring etc.,.
                    then you will have the string formatted with one function and when IRS changes the format it is simple matter of changing the xbasic function.
                    so you are now basically delegating the boring job to the computer which is why they are there for.

                    this is only thinking, i am sure your way is probably way better and meets your needs.
                    Last edited by GGandhi; 01-21-2016, 09:42 AM.
                    thanks for reading

                    gandhi

                    version 11 3381 - 4096
                    mysql backend
                    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                    [email protected]
                    Skype:[email protected]
                    1 914 924 5171

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X