Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Insert UX Component Into Grid

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Insert UX Component Into Grid

    I want to place a UX component above the grid in my TabbedUI home page. Is there a way to do this?

    Thanks
    Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

  • #2
    Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

    I tried inserting the component <head> and <body> code into the existing TabbedUI a5w but that just completely messed things up!

    I've also tried putting the UX component on it's own a5w page then inserting the a5w page above the grid in a freeform edit region but it doesn't emit the page.

    Is this incorrect syntax to emit a page in a freeform region?
    Code:
    <%a5 ?machine_service_state.a5w %>
    2016-03-12_13-25-45.jpg
    Last edited by iRadiate; 03-12-2016, 02:29 PM.
    Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

      I use this in the tabbed UI Header text field.

      <%a5 a5w_include("YourFileName.a5w")%>

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

        try this and see if it works:
        create a new blank a5w page,
        right click on the ux/dialog and select insert into a5w page and insert head section and body section respectively,
        do the same with grid component next.
        save this a5w page as any name you want.
        then place this in the tabbed ui home page and view it
        should work.
        Last edited by GGandhi; 03-12-2016, 07:04 PM.
        thanks for reading

        gandhi

        version 11 3381 - 4096
        mysql backend
        http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
        [email protected]
        Skype:[email protected]
        1 914 924 5171

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

          Thanks for the suggestions but neither of those methods work.
          I didn't think this would be so difficult. Not sure what else to try ... open to any and all suggestions.
          Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

            Originally posted by iRadiate View Post
            Thanks for the suggestions but neither of those methods work.
            I didn't think this would be so difficult. Not sure what else to try ... open to any and all suggestions.
            you want to insert an ux above grid is that correct? and then place them in tabbedui home page?
            thanks for reading

            gandhi

            version 11 3381 - 4096
            mysql backend
            http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
            [email protected]
            Skype:[email protected]
            1 914 924 5171

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

              http://screencast.com/t/GSPisKWXNeYn

              take a look at this screencast, if this was not you were looking for, please post back. see if I or someone can help you out.
              thanks for reading

              gandhi

              version 11 3381 - 4096
              mysql backend
              http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
              [email protected]
              Skype:[email protected]
              1 914 924 5171

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

                Thank you for the video Ghandi, and yes that's what I'm trying to achieve, although I am doing exactly the same thing but not getting the same result.

                I have one UX component called Machine_Service_State. It looks like this:

                1.jpg 2.jpg

                I have one grid component called Whiteboard_NonEdit. It looks like this:

                3.jpg

                I combine them both into an a5w page called Test.a5w, code looks like this:

                Code:
                <!DOCTYPE html>
                <html>
                <head>
                <meta name="generator" content="Alpha Anywhere HTML Editor Version 12 Build 3182-4557">
                <!-- must use in order to make XP Themes render -->
                <meta HTTP-EQUIV="MSThemeCompatible" content="Yes" />
                <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge" />
                <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" /> 
                <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0, maximum-scale=1.0, user-scalable=no" />
                <meta name="apple-mobile-web-app-capable" content="yes" />
                
                <title></title>
                <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code Start - Will be automatically removed when page is published -->
                <!--CSS for tmpl -->
                <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/a5V12/css/GrBlue/style.css">
                <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code End -->
                
                <%a5
                Delete tmpl_MACHINE_SERVICE
                DIM tmpl_MACHINE_SERVICE as P
                tmpl_MACHINE_SERVICE = a5w_load_component("Machine_Service_State") ''SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE (LOAD:Machine_Service_State)
                
                'Override settings start -----------------------------------------
                with tmpl_MACHINE_SERVICE
                .alias = "MACHINE_SERVICE"
                _dialogFilename = "Machine_Service_State"
                end with 
                'Override settings end -----------------------------------------
                
                delete x_MACHINE_SERVICE
                dim x_MACHINE_SERVICE as p
                x_MACHINE_SERVICE = a5w_run_Component(tmpl_MACHINE_SERVICE) 'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE (RUN:tmpl) (EDIT:Machine_Service_State)
                
                ?x_MACHINE_SERVICE.Output.Head.JavaScript
                ?x_MACHINE_SERVICE.Output.Head.CSS_Link
                ?x_MACHINE_SERVICE.Output.Head.Title 
                %>
                
                <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code Start - Will be automatically removed when page is published -->
                <!--CSS for tmpl -->
                <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/a5V12/css/GrBlue/style.css">
                <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code End -->
                <%a5
                'The componentAlias MUST be UNIQUE for each component on the page. It must not have spaces in the name. Keep name as short as possible
                dim componentAlias as c 
                componentAlias = "WHITEBOARD_NONE"
                Delete tmpl_WHITEBOARD_NONE
                DIM tmpl_WHITEBOARD_NONE as P
                tmpl_WHITEBOARD_NONE = a5w_load_component("Whiteboard_NonEdit") 'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE (LOAD:Whiteboard_NonEdit)
                'Following code allows you to override settings in the saved component. DO NOT REMOVE SYSTEM GENERATED OVERRIDE_SETTINGS
                tmpl_WHITEBOARD_NONE.override_settings = <<%override_settings%
                	componentName = componentAlias
                	_gridFilename = "Whiteboard_NonEdit"
                %override_settings%
                'TIP: To refer to local or page variables in the override_settings string, you must first define a local
                'dot variable called 'pageVar' with properties for all of the variables you want to reference. For example:
                '	dim pageVar as p
                '	pageVar.gridRowCount = 10
                'Then, in the override_settings string, you can reference pageVar.gridRowCount. For example:
                '	rows = pageVar.gridRowCount
                'Resolve session and page variables in the override_settings string.
                a5w_resolveVariablesInOverrideSettings(tmpl_WHITEBOARD_NONE,session,local_variables())
                delete x_WHITEBOARD_NONE
                dim x_WHITEBOARD_NONE as p
                x_WHITEBOARD_NONE = a5w_run_Component(tmpl_WHITEBOARD_NONE)  'SYSTEM GENERATED COMMENT - PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE (RUN:tmpl_WHITEBOARD_NONE) (EDIT:Whiteboard_NonEdit)
                if x_WHITEBOARD_NONE.RedirectURL <> "" then 
                	response.redirect(x_WHITEBOARD_NONE.redirectURL)
                	end
                end if 
                ?x_WHITEBOARD_NONE.Output.Head.JavaScript
                ?x_WHITEBOARD_NONE.Output.Head.CSS_Link
                %>
                <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code Start - Will be automatically removed when page is published -->
                <!--CSS for tmpl_WHITEBOARD_NONE -->
                <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="file:///C:/A5Projects/Engineering.WebProjects/Default.WebProject/css/GrBlue/style.css">
                <!--Alpha Five Temporary Code End -->
                </head>
                
                <body>
                
                <%a5 ?x_MACHINE_SERVICE.Output.Body.Dialog2_HTML %>
                <%a5 ?a5dialogHelper_generateCORSHeaders() %>
                
                <%A5 ?x_WHITEBOARD_NONE.Output.Body.Search_HTML %>
                <%A5 ?x_WHITEBOARD_NONE.Output.Body.Grid_HTML %>
                <%A5 ?x_WHITEBOARD_NONE.Output.Body.DetailView_HTML	%>
                <%a5 ?a5dialogHelper_generateCORSHeaders() %>
                
                </body></html>
                I have the TabbedUI use the Test.a5w page but only the UX component is displayed:

                5.jpg 6.jpg
                Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

                  Ultimately, this is the appearance I'm trying to achieve with UX on top and Grid underneath inside the TabbedUI:

                  7.jpg
                  Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

                    there may be some difference the way they work in version 12, here they seem to work well.
                    sorry couldn't help much.
                    thanks for reading

                    gandhi

                    version 11 3381 - 4096
                    mysql backend
                    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                    [email protected]
                    Skype:[email protected]
                    1 914 924 5171

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

                      Hi Stephen..

                      Does the test.a5w work ok when published outside of the Tabbed UI ?

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Insert UX Component Into Grid

                        Originally posted by Steviev View Post
                        Hi Stephen..

                        Does the test.a5w work ok when published outside of the Tabbed UI ?
                        AHAH !!! Steve, so looking at the test.a5w alone, no it doesn't work, again only the UX component shows.
                        I revisited the UX component, maybe there's something wrong with it ... it's only one list component inside a panel card ... can't get much simpler right.
                        So I deleted the panel card leaving only a single list component in the UX. Low and behold, there it is working perfectly !!! The panel card must have been taking up the entire page.

                        Here's how it looks now:

                        1.jpg

                        Thanks so much everyone for your time and helpful suggestions.
                        Alpha Anywhere v12.4.6.4.0 Build 8000-5628 IIS v10.0 on Windows Server 2019 Std in Hyper-V

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X