Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

    Hi,

    I'm trying to achieve a fluid / responsive display that will list groups of data in blocks on the screen. Was not sure if I have to do this via XBasic code or if there was something more built in..

    MS SQL Server layout:

    table: cat
    catid
    catname


    table: vehicle
    vehid
    vehname
    vehstatus


    I'm attempting to pull out all of the vehicle info, grouped by catid - displaying the catname. That works fine for a grid or list control, but I'd like to have each group break into into its own table or grid or list...

    This is for desktop web browser - not mobile. Here is a mock up of what I'd like it to represent:


    BLOCKEXAMPLE.png


    Thank you for any help! I searched for the past several hours for various keywords but just cannot seem to pick the right one..

  • #2
    Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

    Any thoughts anyone?

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

      Why do you want to do it?
      Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
      Albert Einstein, (attributed)
      US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

        Sorry for the delay Pete. I had gotten side tracked. Anyway, It is a status screen of units that need to be grouped (typically broken down by the hundred-series but also some just grouped in an arbitrary way). As the display window will be varied sizes, I need the grouping to be fluid (basically left to right, top to bottom, or top to bottom, then left to right) so they can fit on a screen. I cannot use a simple grid or list because not all of the vehicles will likely fit on the screen in that fashion - unless i can go horizontal.

        Thank you

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

          Chris,

          Maybe you just need to code an a5w page and display the data in html? Of course, that would just be a "dumb" list w. no functionality.

          Not sure if you can dynamically spawn a list or grid.
          Peter
          AlphaBase Solutions, LLC

          Peter@AlphaBaseSolutions.com
          https://www.alphabasesolutions.com


          Comment


          • #6
            Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

            That's what I was figuring... but I was hoping to have some functionality for editing statuses but I can work around that. Thanks :)

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

              You should use the necessary number of panels required in a panel layout, with a ViewBox in in each panel, this will give your what up are looking for. It's light in code and give you control. Will work fine mobile or browser.
              2016-05-01_1245.png
              Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
              Albert Einstein, (attributed)
              US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

                Thanks Pete, I'll play around with that. Awesome

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

                  Here are the component bones.v100.zip
                  Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                  Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                  US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

                    thank you! This seems that it'll work for now, but I'm guessing I'd like to be able to find a way to dynamically create them as vehicle categories / numbering scheme changes. THANK YOU AGAIN!!

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

                      but I'm guessing I'd like to be able to find a way to dynamically create them as vehicle categories / numbering scheme changes.
                      wondering if you can have no panels to start with and use the addPanel to construct all the panels needed.
                      is that possible?
                      (that's what I do in my phonegap apps dynamically build the tableview and detailview)
                      thanks for reading

                      gandhi

                      version 11 3381 - 4096
                      mysql backend
                      http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                      ggandhi344@gmail.com
                      Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
                      1 914 924 5171

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

                        dunno - but for a dynamic approach I would be looking as the list component snaking with clientside group breaks for a start.
                        Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                        Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                        US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

                          Pete, are you saying the panels / viewbox or scrap that and look into list component? I tried the list component with group breaks, but couldn't figure a way of getting a box around each group.

                          Thanks for the ideas guys! I'm still trying to figure out how to do it.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

                            Well - we are all clutching at straws as it's a weird thing to do - you need to take as many paths required to get to the end point - so don't scrap anything, just keep trying options.
                            Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
                            Albert Einstein, (attributed)
                            US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: List/Grid/whichever - have each group separated in it's own box..?

                              Chris, I want to achieve the same sort of thing: dynamic number of boxes to hold a list of related records. It makes a lot of sense in my particular application because the number of group boxes will remain fairly static once the application administrator configures how many categories they want (although it will vary based on the current user's permissions within the system) and the number of records in each box does have a small finite limit.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X