Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Adding Navigation Children from SQL

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Adding Navigation Children from SQL

    Hi Guys,

    I am trying to work out how to populate a menu/navigation system from sql.

    Basically adding children/nodes from a sql table ?

    Do I have to do it in Code ?


    Thanks

    Lee

  • #2
    Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

    Hey Lee,

    There are a few ways to get a menu/navigation system going in Alpha. There's a Button Menu action, a List Control Menu, a Tree Control.

    Are you working toward a web page? A Mobile App? Context is important here.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

      Hi David,

      Its a basic intranet website to learn alpha, usually I would use php/sql.

      In Alpha I am using the built in navigation component, should I be using something else ?

      Creating a horizontal type menu with custom css looking like tabs



      Thanks

      Lee
      Last edited by leemillard; 06-23-2017, 03:31 AM. Reason: add info

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

        alpha provided navigation system is not the greatest, that is their weak point and least attended to by them, if you ask me.
        navigation system is nothing more than an un-ordered list with css markup to look pretty. you seems knowledgeable enough and comfortable enough with your exposure in php, i am sure you can do it better. ( if you restrict all navigation end points in pages than components, i would imagine)

        ps: alpha also provides tabbed ui component, you could use that for navigation purposes exposing a5w pages, components, dialogs/ux, and reports etc.,

        ps2: you can also use dialog/ux with div below it to display the content as injected content. the dialog will only contain buttons and they will open desired component below the dialog/ux as embedded material.
        Last edited by GGandhi; 06-23-2017, 04:31 AM.
        thanks for reading

        gandhi

        version 11 3381 - 4096
        mysql backend
        http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
        ggandhi344@gmail.com
        Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
        1 914 924 5171

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

          Can I use either of these to also make the menu show the correct current page on screen too?, as well as getting the menu names from a SQL row ?
          Last edited by leemillard; 06-23-2017, 06:24 AM. Reason: add info

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

            as well as getting the menu names from a SQL row ?
            i haven't tried so i don't know.
            Can I use either of these to also make the menu show the correct current page on screen
            if you mean that by selecting a button will a correct page load? yes it will. take a look.
            thanks for reading

            gandhi

            version 11 3381 - 4096
            mysql backend
            http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
            ggandhi344@gmail.com
            Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
            1 914 924 5171

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

              No I mean if i want to highlight the current page thats already loaded on screen ?

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

                No I mean if i want to highlight the current page thats already loaded on screen ?
                the button will light up, if that is enough for you (just like the way navigation bar works, they are nothing but css)
                thanks for reading

                gandhi

                version 11 3381 - 4096
                mysql backend
                http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                ggandhi344@gmail.com
                Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
                1 914 924 5171

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

                  I cannot get the navigation bar to even do that
                  Last edited by leemillard; 06-23-2017, 07:43 AM. Reason: spelling mistake

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

                    I cannot get the navigation bar to even do that
                    what you want to do?, what is your desire?
                    i will show you in tabbed ui or ux or in general nav bar.
                    if you search this board for navigation bar, you will see a commercial product used by steve, you can use it if you don't want to construct by yourself.
                    thanks for reading

                    gandhi

                    version 11 3381 - 4096
                    mysql backend
                    http://www.alphawebprogramming.blogspot.com
                    ggandhi344@gmail.com
                    Skype:ggandhi344@gmail.com
                    1 914 924 5171

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Adding Navigation Children from SQL

                      Originally posted by leemillard View Post
                      Hi David,

                      Its a basic intranet website to learn alpha, usually I would use php/sql.

                      In Alpha I am using the built in navigation component, should I be using something else ?

                      Creating a horizontal type menu with custom css looking like tabs



                      Thanks

                      Lee
                      Here's an Alpha video showing a UX with a Tab Control.

                      http://www.ajaxvideotutorials.com/V1...ActivePane.swf

                      I don't think there is a Component that takes it's Tab label information from a SQL source. However, that's not hard to build... it just depends on how dynamic you want things to be.

                      The attached UX contains a Tab Control with 4 Tab Panes. The "Get SQL Tab Labels" button makes an Ajax Callback to the Alpha Server which runs an Xbasic Function (found in Xbasic functions)
                      The Xbasic function queries a SQL Table and formats the data into an Array of JSON Objects. The Xbasic function then returns a call to a Javascript Function (found in Javascript functions)... and includes the data.

                      The Javascript function gets information about the Tab Control (e.g. the Pane Count) and then goes through a loop setting the Tab Labels.

                      Since you're new to Alpha this UX demonstrates a few things:

                      Ajax Callback to the server to run an Xbasic function.
                      XBasic to query a SQL data source
                      Return code to run a Javacsript Function with SQL Data formatted as a Javascript Array of JSON Objects.
                      Attached Files

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X