Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

    The wiki help assumes the user is using a web enabled system. Mine is a desktop application, running on a server. I tend to do development work on my personal pc (outside of working hours) and then copy it back to the server before work starts again. This is starting to cause issues.

    Can I use the development server system to upgrade locally before then "publishing" the upgrade to the server?
    Last edited by LittleMate; 12-05-2019, 01:24 PM.

  • #2
    Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

    After you BACKUP the server application files, you certainly CAN make your modifications directly on the server files. Just be sure to compact the database before going 'live' again.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

      Originally posted by MoGrace View Post
      After you BACKUP the server application files, you certainly CAN make your modifications directly on the server files. Just be sure to compact the database before going 'live' again.
      I am looking to make system alterations in work time. I think what you propose is to just modify the server version after backing up. Can I use the development server system instead?

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

        I guess I don't understand the question. What do you mean by the 'development server system'.

        I run the Alpha developer program on my local PC at work, and load the server app (using a shortcut). If working from home, I remote into my desktop and pretty much do the same.
        Last edited by MoGrace; 12-05-2019, 02:30 PM.
        Robin

        Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

          I do pretty much as Robin does. I also do modifications on my own computer and then send the modified files to the server or a client so they can do that. Be sure to not overwrite dbf files though
          Dave Mason
          dave@aldadesktop.com
          Skype is dave.mason46

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

            Originally posted by DaveM View Post
            I do pretty much as Robin does. I also do modifications on my own computer and then send the modified files to the server or a client so they can do that. Be sure to not overwrite dbf files though
            Only the .dbf files to avoid overwriting?

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

              Are you running users as shadowed clients? We have users access the server through RDP and access our business app as individual runtime sessions. I have Alpha Dev version on the server, and access the server through RDP and open the app under developer Alpha. I perform development and fixes on the server while others are using the system all day long. They realize the change after they log off and log back in. We have given that action the acronym LOLITR -Log Off Log In To Refresh. I resist making changes to forms and tables when live. I do this when everyone is off the system, and since the system is pretty mature at this juncture, table and form changes are rare. I use the tactic performing the vast majority of activity through xdialogs within UDF code, and you can do this at will because it will not affect the users session. They will only realize the changes after LOLITR. So this needs only to be in mind.
              Mike W
              __________________________
              "I rebel in at least small things to express to the world that I have not completely surrendered"

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

                I have Alpha Dev version on the server, and access the server through RDP and open the app under developer Alpha. I perform development and fixes on the server while others are using the system all day long. They realize the change after they log off and log back in. We have given that action the acronym LOLITR -Log Off Log In To Refresh.
                as long as no change to a table, mikes will work fine on non-shadowed or shadowed but the dev does not have to be on the server. It can be on a work station. The refresh can be handled several ways. by way of autoexec script or maybe a button or in the db setup for on start or when set to prompt on app start by version. I usually put a button on main menu for refresh. It just runs a re-shadow script.
                Last edited by DaveM; 12-06-2019, 02:15 AM.
                Dave Mason
                dave@aldadesktop.com
                Skype is dave.mason46

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

                  Cheers for the info/advice guys. I'm making form changes (and very occasionally table ones too) at the moment and its frustrating having to wait until the end of the day. Also, remote access in the UK is not as quick as I'd like (to a server at work) and I live in a relatively remote area where broadband is not reliable.

                  I shall grin and bear it!

                  Cheers

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

                    If you have a copy of the app on your home PC and want to do updates to forms, you only need to send/update the dd* or se* files that are involved back to the server. If you need to make table changes that is a bit more involved...
                    Robin

                    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

                      Originally posted by MoGrace View Post
                      If you have a copy of the app on your home PC and want to do updates to forms, you only need to send/update the dd* or se* files that are involved back to the server. If you need to make table changes that is a bit more involved...
                      I use the laptop at work and take it home, as it has the developer version on it.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Can the development server be used on the desktop application?

                        Martin, you might want to consider some form of Version or Change Control.
                        In situations where there are ongoing user requests and changes however small, I have a Table which has no Form attached where I note the date, change, action taken and any roll back procedures as well as a backup folder name and version.
                        If necessary I also put before and after code in there.
                        It's so easy to get lost with lots of little tweaks.
                        Ted Giles
                        Example Consulting - UK
                        .

                        sigpichttp://ec12.example-software.com//
                        See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X