Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

    I have the application on a machine running windows 7.1 professional. There are 6 users running on 7.1 pro using the runtime program (shadow database). If one of the the users replaces their machine with one running windows 8.1 (specifically the Microsoft surface) and we install the runtime program on that machine, will the application work? As you can tell I am not a computer person -I have an application that I created ten years ago on what ever version of Alpha was back then- so if I am stating the question less than artfully, I apologize.

    Alan

  • #2
    Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

    Yes. Install, make a shortcut, set the properties of the shortcut to run in windows 7 compatibility mode.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

      What version of alpha are you on now?
      are you using version 12/AA?
      Dave Mason
      dave@aldadesktop.com
      Skype is dave.mason46

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

        Version 12

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

          Using v12, there should be no issues.
          Dave Mason
          dave@aldadesktop.com
          Skype is dave.mason46

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

            This gentleman still needs his 10 year old ALPHA business application to run on windows 7/8 machines. Not in a browser, not on a tablet/in the cloud. And not on android etc....
            Just real networked hardware (Notebook PC's) on counters/desks with real WORKING people/users behind them. (In a "realistic working environment.") ~ Go figure!!!!

            Absolutely love this thread if for nothing more, than for nostalgic purposes??? But wait!!! (It's more of a "reality check" which disputes "the desktop is dead" theory).....
            And to think that MS is totally avoiding the "Windows 9 moniker" (jumping to Windows 10) because the "tablet based interface" in Windows 8 is not what people want at work for a real computing experience?

            Been in business for ~25 years, and have experienced so much since the Apple-II was introduced.... Sticking with real hardware myself.
            FWIW: I have a "high powered, high end big screen smartphone." My thoughts on this "smartphone" after being around hardware since the Apple-II+: "Nice TOY!"

            ~LOVE IT!
            Last edited by SNusa; 02-04-2015, 12:10 PM.
            Robert T. ~ "I enjoy manipulating data... just not my data."
            It's all about the "framework." (I suppose an "a5-induced" hard drive crash is now in order?)
            RELOADED: My current posting activity here merely represents a "Momentary Lapse Of Reason."

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

              Robert,
              I agree with you!
              To carry it one step further, though:

              There are people out there that NEED to work from home and There are also companies that have 2+ facilities spread out across large areas with lots of users where hardware alone would not suffice.
              I think they then need a web type solution.
              That is a complete data set on a server at a hosting solution or an in-house server where all can connect by way of browser and internet. Phones and tablets? Maybe some tablets could be used(depends).
              Dave Mason
              dave@aldadesktop.com
              Skype is dave.mason46

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

                Exactly Dave! I totally agree with you.
                (And sorry to the OP for getting "slightly off topic.")
                Robert T. ~ "I enjoy manipulating data... just not my data."
                It's all about the "framework." (I suppose an "a5-induced" hard drive crash is now in order?)
                RELOADED: My current posting activity here merely represents a "Momentary Lapse Of Reason."

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

                  "And to think that MS is totally avoiding the "Windows 9 moniker"
                  I heard a rumour from my son who works at Google that Windows 9 was skipped because a lot of legacy code checks 'Win9' (i.e. Windows 95 or 98) to determine the O/S it is running on.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

                    The irony of this OP's question is (for many reasons) I can see this going on, and on and on.....
                    As of January 2015: There still are almost as many computers on XP as there are on Windows 8!

                    Many companies today are creating "jobs" & profits, not necessarily better products.
                    For many years, I have come to believe that within the computer industry (at least) change is more about "perception" than it is of REAL change......
                    Deep down in the computer industry it's still all about 0's and 1's..... Good analogy: 100 year later, wheels of an automobile are still round in shape.
                    (At least the wheel has been reinforced with steel belted radial technology etc. lol ~ Can't always think of windows like that. Especially Vista lol. )
                    On that note: I know many people who would still be using XP if it were still supported. Can't say I totally agree on that one though.
                    Last edited by SNusa; 02-06-2015, 02:53 PM.
                    Robert T. ~ "I enjoy manipulating data... just not my data."
                    It's all about the "framework." (I suppose an "a5-induced" hard drive crash is now in order?)
                    RELOADED: My current posting activity here merely represents a "Momentary Lapse Of Reason."

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

                      v12 works fine on xp3. Maybe more but I have not tried further back.
                      Dave Mason
                      dave@aldadesktop.com
                      Skype is dave.mason46

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Using on a network with windows 7.1 and 8.1

                        Originally posted by GGAllen View Post
                        "And to think that MS is totally avoiding the "Windows 9 moniker"
                        I heard a rumour from my son who works at Google that Windows 9 was skipped because a lot of legacy code checks 'Win9' (i.e. Windows 95 or 98) to determine the O/S it is running on.
                        No idea on that one. I do know that there was something about the internal architecture of windows beyond Vista that necessitated maintaining "v6.x versioning" for application compatibility.
                        To move forward, windows 7 & 8 internally took on a naming convention of 6.1, 6.2 (and 6.3 for version 8.1).....
                        now with version "10", they're moving away from this numbering. (And for a time, there was a v9 which is being totally "skipped" for whatever reasoning.)

                        More info here:
                        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...ndows_versions
                        http://arstechnica.com/information-t...probably-work/
                        Last edited by SNusa; 02-08-2015, 02:49 PM.
                        Robert T. ~ "I enjoy manipulating data... just not my data."
                        It's all about the "framework." (I suppose an "a5-induced" hard drive crash is now in order?)
                        RELOADED: My current posting activity here merely represents a "Momentary Lapse Of Reason."

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X