Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    Has anyone else noticed that bubble help works in the developer version, but not in the runtime?

    Or is it just me?

    I am using 12.3 Build 2446-4365...

    Thanks in advance for your time.

  • #2
    Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

    never mind.... It was on my end.

    Thank you, anyway.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

      In case someone else experiences this....

      In my case, the application gets opened by a custom EXE, which allows the full screen to be filled by the application on dedicated machines. No windows taskbar is visible.

      Apparently, for reasons yet unknown, bubble help doesn't work in that scenario.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

        Hi Craig,

        There is a script in here from Selwyn that allows you to turn bubble help on and off from a menu selection. Even if your issue is resolved you might find it useful. If it doesn't show up in a link at the bottom of the page, perhaps I can find it for you - if you are interested.

        Found it here
        Last edited by MoGrace; 04-02-2015, 01:31 AM.
        Robin

        Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

          Robin:

          Thank you! I will try this tomorrow, and report back if it helped in my case.

          I suspect that it has to do with the window I am opening the runtime in - no window bar at the top and no taskbar at the bottom.

          Everything else works perfectly, though. I just use the bubble help in a couple places where room forces a smaller font than a typical middle-aged person can see well.

          (The link brought back fond memories of when Selwyn spent so much time on the board.)

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

            You can import this function into your control panel

            bubbleHelpToggle04-02-2015.txt

            Then call it in a menu item under View named "Bubble Help" and it should show checked when active:

            bubblehelptoggle(topparent.this)

            Oops - you will need this function too for setting up the menu item to show its checked state:

            bubbleHelpState04-02-2015.txt

            bubblehelpstate(topparent.this) = "ON"

            One more discovery - if you edit the Form View system menu and add this item, it will appear as an option you can select when you design a custom menu.
            Last edited by MoGrace; 04-02-2015, 01:54 PM.
            Robin

            Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

              Robin:

              I tried your solution, but to no avail.

              While your functions (and Selwyn's) work in a normal window, they have no effect in full screen windows.

              I guess it's not that the bubble help is toggled off, it just does not work in a window with no windowbar at the top. It has nothing to do directly with Alpha.

              Thank you so much for your effort, but we can let it go at this point. I will need to break down the EXE, and seek a solution there.

              I'll keep the functions, though!

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

                Craig,
                I've been testing it again too. It seems the functions Selwyn wrote test first if there is bubble help on the current form and the option appears checked because when the form opens it begins as ON. I believe that in ver 8 it worked as expected, but testing in ver 11, the menu item only seems to work on the table the menu item was related to, eg in a right click menu. So my original intent to have this work generically for any form from the top menu- as the topparent.this pointer ought to; needs some further work...
                Robin

                Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

                  I don't open my app with a custom exe, but I am running in runtime and with a fullscreen app, and bubble help works just fine.
                  I have it on certain buttons and certain fields in certain screens/forms.
                  Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
                  972 524 8714
                  martin_w_cole[email protected]

                  ____________________
                  "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

                    Martin

                    I'm not sure our definition of "Fullscreen" is the same. If it is, you know something I never knew.

                    By fullscreen, I mean no window title bar at the top, and no taskbar at the bottom. Just like a AA web app, where the app utilizes all the screen real estate.

                    In a regular window, with a title bar, the bubblehelp works just fine with both dev and runtime versions.

                    Is that how you define fullscreen?

                    I need to do this for two reasons:

                    1) The app runs on desktops (with touchscreens) and tablets, and with Windows 10, it will run on a smartphone - with any luck.

                    2) The app runs on devices dedicated solely to the app. Users cannot use, say, Chrome, and infect or deteriorate the efficiency and security of the device.

                    Thanks for your input , as I am just realizing you know what this app does, already, from our conversations...

                    At any rate, no one need lose time giving this much thought. The only reason I use it is to "Blow up" text that required a smaller font than I would have prefered on a tablet.

                    I use 12 pt Verdana just about everywhere, except in a couple places.

                    And thank you to Robin and Martin, for your input!
                    Last edited by CraigSchumacker; 04-04-2015, 09:01 PM.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

                      By full screen, I run it maximized - all forms and layouts take up the entire screen
                      I have no menus or toolbars on any form
                      And I use bubble help for objects on the form, not the form itself
                      Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
                      972 524 8714
                      [email protected]

                      ____________________
                      "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Bubble Help Not Working In Runtime

                        That is what I thought you meant.

                        I'm not sure how menu or toolbars got into the conversation...

                        I have no Windows Title Bar or Windows Task Bar. Those two objects are not part of Alpha; they are components of Windows. That is the difference between your setup and mine.

                        At any rate, this is no crisis...
                        Last edited by CraigSchumacker; 04-05-2015, 06:45 AM.

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X