Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Convert SQL Time(7) field in desktop report

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Mark,
    See what happens if you remove the 0 left of the h:
    Gregg Schmidt

    Comment


    • #17
      Ok, this might sound odd, but try changing the name of the result.
      You are using Calc_Time then 2 and 3
      Alpha can be funny about naming conventions and anything over 8 char in a name can cause issues, especially with Indices.
      Calc_Time is 9 characters.

      Try it with a simple calc name such as abc1, def2, hij3
      Ted Giles
      Example Consulting - UK
      .

      sigpichttp://ec12.example-software.com//
      See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

      Comment


      • #18
        Originally posted by madtowng View Post
        Mark,
        See what happens if you remove the 0 left of the h:
        Gregg,

        I received the same results other than the preceding '0' being omitted.

        Thanks

        Comment


        • #19
          Originally posted by Ted Giles View Post
          Ok, this might sound odd, but try changing the name of the result.
          You are using Calc_Time then 2 and 3
          Alpha can be funny about naming conventions and anything over 8 char in a name can cause issues, especially with Indices.
          Calc_Time is 9 characters.

          Try it with a simple calc name such as abc1, def2, hij3
          Ted,

          Doing as you suggested resulted in the same results.

          Thanks

          Comment


          • #20
            Mark,
            I'm going to go back to the very beginning of this post.
            The problem was Calc_Time = totime(toseconds(left(convert_type(Record_Time,"C"),5)),11,0) would return an incorrect time for anything between 1 pm and 11 pm.
            I'm going to start with you are converting a character variable to a character variable.
            Next, you're taking the 5 left characters of time1, for this example lets assume time1 = "1:15 PM" . This means you're taking "1:15 ", which you then convert to seconds.
            That = 4500
            you then convert 4500 to time which correctly returns 1:15 AM.

            IF you dim time1 as Y = {1:05 PM}, then use time("0h:0m",{1:15 PM}) for the rest of your calculations IE: totime(toseconds(left(time("0h:0m",time1),5)),11,0), you should
            get the expected result of "1:15 pm" .
            Gregg Schmidt

            Comment


            • #21
              Mark, This reply is specifically to post #15, the result for the 2nd example is correct : left(time1,5) at this point = "01:15", which would be 1:15 am.
              Gregg Schmidt

              Comment


              • #22
                You're chopping off the 'am'/'pm' segment when you perform your left function. This is OK if you define the value using 24 hour clock, but will obviously cause problems if using 12 hour option.

                Code:
                ?convert_type(time1,"C")
                = "01:15:00 pm"
                Code:
                ?left(convert_type(time1,"C"),5)
                = "01:15"

                Comment


                • #23
                  I still cannot figure out why 3 test machines show the contents of the field SqlDatasource->Record_Time as "01:15:00:00 pm" and the other 3 test machines show the contents as "13:15:00 0000000".

                  I can create a calculated field to work with either field result but that doesn't explain why they are different to begin with.

                  The only common denominator that I have found between them is the three machines that display the field as 01:15:00 00 pm have both MS Sql Express and Alpha Aplication Server installed on them. The other three machines do not. Suppose that could make a difference?

                  If needed, I suppose I could do a conditional field that checks the results of SqlDatasource->Record_Time and if it contains "m" then display calculated field #1, otherwise display calculated field #2. I hate to go this route but may have to.

                  Thanks

                  Comment


                  • #24
                    Looks like that may be the only option, Mark.
                    I assume you have tried exporting a correctly functioning report and importing it to one of the other machines with the problem?
                    Not just copying the app, but export and import.
                    Ted Giles
                    Example Consulting - UK
                    .

                    sigpichttp://ec12.example-software.com//
                    See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

                    Comment


                    • #25
                      Sometimes a second pair. of eyes can make a difference.
                      Gregg Schmidt

                      Comment


                      • #26
                        How is the time being set?
                        Ted Giles
                        Example Consulting - UK
                        .

                        sigpichttp://ec12.example-software.com//
                        See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

                        Comment


                        • #27
                          Originally posted by Ted Giles View Post
                          How is the time being set?
                          Ted,

                          The fields are populated from users cellphones while in the field. Our web app does GPS geocoding and captures the coordinates, date, time, etc.

                          Thanks

                          Comment


                          • #28
                            So... In my quest to figure this out, I found something interesting that explains the difference between the way two machines display the time differently. I don't know how to fix it but perhaps it will make more sense to others?

                            I accessed the same workspace files and data on both computers and then viewed the datasource fields. For some reason, the two machines show the date and time fields with different definitions.

                            Machine1:
                            machine1.jpg

                            Machine2:
                            machine2.jpg

                            Alpha allows you to override the field definition so I changed the field definitions on machine 1 to match machine 2:
                            machine1b.jpg

                            After doing this, the time is still displayed as:
                            Machine1 - 01:15:00 00 pm
                            Machine2 - 13:15:00.0000000

                            I then deleted the connection string and datasource definitions on both computers and recreated them from scratch and received the same results.

                            Does this help to narrow it down?

                            Thanks
                            Last edited by Mark Williams; 10-27-2020, 05:40 AM.

                            Comment


                            • #29
                              Are the processors the same on the different machines?
                              I'm stumped, so suggest you now contact Selwyn or Lenny at Alpha to see if they have any ideas.
                              Ted Giles
                              Example Consulting - UK
                              .

                              sigpichttp://ec12.example-software.com//
                              See our site for Alpha Support, Conversion and Upgrade.

                              Comment


                              • #30
                                Could I suggest you try
                                Code:
                                totime(toseconds(convert_type(time1,"C")),11,0)
                                in your calculated field? I've removed the left(X,5) from the original equation. This returns 1:15pm for me using both input formats.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X