Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

    I'm a long time user of Alpha Five, I just upgraded to version 12 and I'm frustrated by what appears to be a minor quirk. In every previous version of A5, when I clicked on a field in a form (while the record is in "Edit Mode"), I could right click with my mouse and select COPY from the drop down menu. I would then copy the value of the record stored in the field and paste it into something such as a PW field at a website. That no longer works. What's up with that?

    Now I have to take my hand off the mouse and use two hands to do a CTRL-C which works.
    Last edited by rtbtat; 01-18-2016, 03:33 PM. Reason: Clarify my question

  • #2
    Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

    Works for me in Alpha Sports.

    Put the form in design mode.
    Right click on a field.
    Select properties.
    Select the Menus/Toolbars tab.
    Make sure the correct entry is in the drop down.

    Also, you can highlight the field, press ctrl-c to copy.
    Alpha Anywhere v3.5
    Version 12.3, Build 2999
    MySql56 & DBF's

    Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

    Ron Anusiewicz

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

      Thanks Ron, I'm very familiar with ctrl-c, but it's a lot more convenient to right click. I've been doing that forever.

      I didn't ask my question properly. I've been able to do this for 2 decades with every Alpha product. However, with ver 12, I cannot right click on a field and get the drop down menu in every single database. Therefore, the problem isn't unique to a specific database. Is this true for everyone running ver 12 or is there something going on with my copy of A5 running on Windows 10?

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

        I do believe you asked the right question.
        You didn't try what I suggested you do.

        I'm not running windows 10 but the right click menu works fine in my v12
        unless I disable it. Then the right click menu doesn't work.
        I'm using Build 2999, Build 4519.

        Did you try this in Alpha Sports?

        Check this:
        Put the form in design mode.
        Right click on a field.
        Select properties.
        Select the Menus/Toolbars tab.
        Make sure the correct entry is in the drop down.

        I tried to upload an image but for some reason I can not.
        Last edited by Ronald Anusiewicz; 01-18-2016, 02:00 PM.
        Alpha Anywhere v3.5
        Version 12.3, Build 2999
        MySql56 & DBF's

        Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

        Ron Anusiewicz

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

          Ron, I believe you and I are talking about two different things. Before I get to why I'm saying this, let me say I've been able to right click on a field in any version of Alpha Five (prior to version 12) and a drop down menu would appear where one of the options was Copy. I could then copy a password or some other value stored in the data field, go to a website and paste in my PW. I cannot do that in Ver 12 while the record is in "Edit Mode" (The record, not the form).

          Ron said,

          Put the form in design mode.
          Right click on a field.
          Select properties.
          Select the Menus/Toolbars tab.
          Make sure the correct entry is in the drop down.

          1. What is the correct entry?
          2. I think this is a very different drop down menu than the one I'm referring to.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

            OK, you are saying "field". So I'm opening Alpha Sports.

            I close the Alpha Sports application.
            This leaves me at the control panel.
            I select the Tables/Sets tab.
            I then can open any table in the workspace. I'll choose invoice_header.
            I can select any field I can see in the browse.
            I right click on that field.
            A menu opens with 11 choices.
            Copy, Cut, Paste, Delete, etc........

            If you follow these steps, do you get the same results.
            I do believe I'm following your steps.

            What am I missing?

            If this doesn't answer you question, you should post a working example with a step by step procedure so we can duplicate what you are seeing. Otherwise, I don't think we can help you.
            Last edited by Ronald Anusiewicz; 01-18-2016, 04:42 PM.
            Alpha Anywhere v3.5
            Version 12.3, Build 2999
            MySql56 & DBF's

            Alpha 4, 5, Anywhere

            Ron Anusiewicz

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

              I just tried it on a form with V12 and it worked just fine - using Windows 7 Pro
              Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
              972 524 8714
              martin_w_cole@msn.com

              ____________________
              "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

                Thank you Martin, that's what I needed to know. On my Windows 10 system, whether I right click on field in a browse (as suggested by Ron) or in a form, there is NO drop down menu period and I must use Contrl-C to copy the value of the record. Ron, does that answer your question?

                Once again, what I described above happens in every one of the 25 or 30 database applications I have. It is not specific to any database.

                This was NOT a problem with Windows 10 and Ver 11. Therefore, the problem is Windows 10 in combination with A5 ver 12 or something unique only to my system which is not allowing me to see a drop down menu. This has to be the problem because I cannot believe Version 12 would suddenly do away with that drop down menu.

                Note: I thought it might be a Windows 10 setting but when I'm not in Alpha Five, I can right click on data and the drop down menu with the Copy & Paste option pops up.
                Last edited by rtbtat; 01-19-2016, 11:25 AM.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

                  I believe Ron is trying to have you check the form properties to see if a right click menu has been set to <system> or <none> or a custom menu that Alpha cannot find. If for some reason it is being set to <none> as the default, that could be your problem. In prior versions the default was always <system>.
                  Robin

                  Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

                    Robin, thank you so much for explaining what Ron was trying to tell me but he never did explain so I could understand him. I went into the database and tried every option I could think of for the right click menu such as "system" , <system>, etc. and none of them helped. If I read the directions correctly, this option is referring to a field which is locked, nonetheless I tried all of them. Anyway, I'm working in fields which aren't locked, they're in data entry mode.

                    Robin, something tells me I'm missing something which is obvious to everyone else. After more than a decade of working with Alpha Five and loving every minute, I find this little quirk so frustrating.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

                      Over here Windows 10, A5v12 - as yours
                      When a form is in NOT in edit mode, click on a field with data, the R/click menu is not a "Field" menu but for the form. There is no "Copy" on it. Also Ctrl/C does not work
                      Put the form into edit mode and all works as you described and would expect.

                      Summary, you can only copy a value in a field when you can edit it. Check that you can edit a field, and see if the problem exists when you can.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

                        Ray in Capetown said, "Summary, you can only copy a value in a field when you can edit it. Check that you can edit a field, and see if the problem exists when you can."

                        Hello Ray, that's exactly what I've been saying all along. Please read what I wrote.

                        Ray also said, "Put the form into edit mode and all works as you described and would expect."

                        No, that's not what one would expect. I've been using Alpha Five for many more years than I care to say. I always had the ability to right click on a field in edit mode and get a drop down menu where I can copy the value of the record. I then go to a website and paste in that value which is usually a PW. For some bizarre reason, I cannot do that in Ver 12. I must instead take my hands off the mouse, and use 2 hands to do a Crtl-C, then go to the website and do a Ctrl-V.

                        Note: See what Martin Cole said above, he does in fact get a drop down menu where he can right click and copy the value of the record. If he can see it, why can't I?

                        Is this a major issue? Of course not, but it is very frustrating and makes my work slightly harder because I must copy a PW at least 12-15 times per day. More importantly, I still cannot figure out if this feature is no longer part of A5 or if there's some global setting I have to change to make it work. I'm actually more confused now then I was when I started the thread.
                        Last edited by rtbtat; 01-20-2016, 10:14 AM.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

                          Originally posted by rtbtat View Post

                          Ray also said, "Put the form into edit mode and all works as you described and would expect."

                          No, that's not what one would expect. I've been using Alpha Five for many more years than I care to say. I always had the ability to right click on a field in edit mode and get a drop down menu where I can copy the value of the record.
                          You are contradicting yourself, I said that it works as you expect and you say that thats not what you expect and then describe the same thing as you always have had the ability to do.

                          In a "nut" shell, it is not wrong with v12/Win10 - it works here.
                          click on a field in edit mode and get a drop down menu where I can copy the value of the record.????

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

                            Even though I have the latest build, it's very possible I have a corrupt installation of Ver 12 because other features are not working such as report and form design components which are missing. I'm investigating that issue right now. If that's the case, it may make this entire thread a moot point.

                            I uninstalled Ver 11 and rebooted thinking that may have been the cause of a corrupt installation.
                            I then uninstalled Ver 12 and rebooted.
                            I installed Ver 12 and rebooted.
                            I still have no Report or Form Editing Components and I still can't right click and get a drop down menu in a record on a form in Edit Mode.

                            The Windows 10 Apps Panel shows Alpha Anywhere as installed but UNAVAILABLE.
                            Last edited by rtbtat; 01-20-2016, 04:28 PM.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Cannot Right Click and Select Copy Anymore

                              This sounds like some obscure setting in Windows - not Alpha. Recommend you email lenny@alphasoftware.com along with Selwyn and Cian. They may have an idea what the hangup is.
                              Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
                              972 524 8714
                              martin_w_cole@msn.com

                              ____________________
                              "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X