Alpha Software Mobile Development Tools:   Alpha Anywhere    |   Alpha TransForm subscribe to our YouTube Channel  Follow Us on LinkedIn  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Facebook

Announcement

Collapse

The Alpha Software Forum Participation Guidelines

The Alpha Software Forum is a free forum created for Alpha Software Developer Community to ask for help, exchange ideas, and share solutions. Alpha Software strives to create an environment where all members of the community can feel safe to participate. In order to ensure the Alpha Software Forum is a place where all feel welcome, forum participants are expected to behave as follows:
  • Be professional in your conduct
  • Be kind to others
  • Be constructive when giving feedback
  • Be open to new ideas and suggestions
  • Stay on topic


Be sure all comments and threads you post are respectful. Posts that contain any of the following content will be considered a violation of your agreement as a member of the Alpha Software Forum Community and will be moderated:
  • Spam.
  • Vulgar language.
  • Quotes from private conversations without permission, including pricing and other sales related discussions.
  • Personal attacks, insults, or subtle put-downs.
  • Harassment, bullying, threatening, mocking, shaming, or deriding anyone.
  • Sexist, racist, homophobic, transphobic, ableist, or otherwise discriminatory jokes and language.
  • Sexually explicit or violent material, links, or language.
  • Pirated, hacked, or copyright-infringing material.
  • Encouraging of others to engage in the above behaviors.


If a thread or post is found to contain any of the content outlined above, a moderator may choose to take one of the following actions:
  • Remove the Post or Thread - the content is removed from the forum.
  • Place the User in Moderation - all posts and new threads must be approved by a moderator before they are posted.
  • Temporarily Ban the User - user is banned from forum for a period of time.
  • Permanently Ban the User - user is permanently banned from the forum.


Moderators may also rename posts and threads if they are too generic or do not property reflect the content.

Moderators may move threads if they have been posted in the incorrect forum.

Threads/Posts questioning specific moderator decisions or actions (such as "why was a user banned?") are not allowed and will be removed.

The owners of Alpha Software Corporation (Forum Owner) reserve the right to remove, edit, move, or close any thread for any reason; or ban any forum member without notice, reason, or explanation.

Community members are encouraged to click the "Report Post" icon in the lower left of a given post if they feel the post is in violation of the rules. This will alert the Moderators to take a look.

Alpha Software Corporation may amend the guidelines from time to time and may also vary the procedures it sets out where appropriate in a particular case. Your agreement to comply with the guidelines will be deemed agreement to any changes to it.



Bonus TIPS for Successful Posting

Try a Search First
It is highly recommended that a Search be done on your topic before posting, as many questions have been answered in prior posts. As with any search engine, the shorter the search term, the more "hits" will be returned, but the more specific the search term is, the greater the relevance of those "hits". Searching for "table" might well return every message on the board while "tablesum" would greatly restrict the number of messages returned.

When you do post
First, make sure you are posting your question in the correct forum. For example, if you post an issue regarding Desktop applications on the Mobile & Browser Applications board , not only will your question not be seen by the appropriate audience, it may also be removed or relocated.

The more detail you provide about your problem or question, the more likely someone is to understand your request and be able to help. A sample database with a minimum of records (and its support files, zipped together) will make it much easier to diagnose issues with your application. Screen shots of error messages are especially helpful.

When explaining how to reproduce your problem, please be as detailed as possible. Describe every step, click-by-click and keypress-by-keypress. Otherwise when others try to duplicate your problem, they may do something slightly different and end up with different results.

A note about attachments
You may only attach one file to each message. Attachment file size is limited to 2MB. If you need to include several files, you may do so by zipping them into a single archive.

If you forgot to attach your files to your post, please do NOT create a new thread. Instead, reply to your original message and attach the file there.

When attaching screen shots, it is best to attach an image file (.BMP, .JPG, .GIF, .PNG, etc.) or a zip file of several images, as opposed to a Word document containing the screen shots. Because Word documents are prone to viruses, many message board users will not open your Word file, therefore limiting their ability to help you.

Similarly, if you are uploading a zipped archive, you should simply create a .ZIP file and not a self-extracting .EXE as many users will not run your EXE file.
See more
See less

Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

    I have deployed 5 separate applications on a network of 7 computers. These applications have been and continue to work ok.
    I have developed a new application and I have deployed it on the same LAN, with the same users as the 5 applications mentioned above. I have deployed it as both a shadow as well as direct.

    When I run the new application from any of the 7 computers everything works ok... very fast.

    BUT

    When I try to run it from any two computers... the MainMenu form takes minutes to load. It doesn't seem to matter whether the shadow or the direct approach are used. It also doesn't seem to matter if there are two computers running the app or if all 7 are running it... same few minutes to load the MainMenu form.

    Also... very strange, but may be a clue to what's happening.... After the MainMenu form has loaded, I can click on any button on the MainMenu and the report, browse or form that the button activates loads instantly. However, when I click a button to return to the MainMenu it takes a few minutes to load. This happens even if the MainMenu is only minimized or not active. It happens whenever the MainMenu form is initiallized, activated or refreshed.

    So... the problem is obviously the combination of the MainMenu and running it on 2 or more computers. If just one computer is using the app from anywhere on the LAN it works fine.

    I have checked the Network permissions and speed... I cannot see any network issues and the fact that the other applications are running well validates this conclusion.

    What could the form be doing that only manifests during multiuser access?

  • #2
    Re: Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

    An example of what you are doing will save the 20 questions game to zero in on the issue.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.
    "Make it as simple as possible, but not simpler."
    Albert Einstein

    http://www.iadn.com/images/media/iadn_member.png

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

      Thanks Al... you are correct... if I had uploaded the form and function codwe you would probably have found it faster than I did...

      BUT

      I think that I have found the problem...
      I did a rebuild of the MainMenu... placing one or two objects on the new menu at a time... when I placed a calculated field named NumConcurrentUsers on the form it started to load very slowly if > 1 user was loged on....
      Below is the code for the code for the calculated field:
      FUNCTION totCurrentUsers AS C ( )
      'Date Created: 09-Dec-2011 11:29:17 AM
      'Last Updated: 20-Dec-2011 12:14:53 PM
      'Created By : Jo Hulsen
      'Updated By : Administrator
      'FUNCTION TotCurUsers AS C ( )
      dim bare_path as C
      dim MUFFile as C
      dim RMUFFile as C
      dim SHARED totalUsers as N
      bare_path=:a5.Get_Master_Path()
      if len(alltrim(bare_path)) > 0 then
      ' running on Shadow DB
      ' Insert your Developer license number!
      MUFFile = bare_path + "\" + file.filename_parse(a5.Get_Name(),"N") + ".muf"
      RMUFFile = bare_path + "\" + file.filename_parse(a5.Get_Name(),"N") + ".rmuf"
      'totCurrentUsers = a5_registration_licenseEx_inuse(MUFFile,"Developer license nbr here") + a5_registration_license_inuse(RMUFFile)
      totCurrentUsers = a5_registration_licenseEx_inuse(MUFFile,"6809053038363433") + a5_registration_license_inuse(RMUFFile)
      else
      ' running on Master DB
      ' Insert your Runtime license number!
      MUFFile = file.filename_parse(a5.Get_Name(),"DPN") + ".muf"
      RMUFFile = file.filename_parse(a5.Get_Name(),"DPN") + ".rmuf"
      'totCurrentUsers = a5_registration_license_inuse(MUFFile) + a5_registration_licenseEx_inuse(RMUFFile,"Runtime license nbr here")
      totCurrentUsers = a5_registration_license_inuse(MUFFile) + a5_registration_licenseEx_inuse(RMUFFile,"4677782282039615")
      end if
      END FUNCTION

      I have removed this field and all is well ! :-)

      Now... is there a way that I can get the Concurrent users value onto the MainMenu or somehow display it?

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

        Is a5_registration_licenseEx_inuse() a local udf? or a typo?
        There can be only one.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

          Hi Stan... It is an Alpha function

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

            Do it by using a variable and uun it as a function as opposed to a calc field
            actually I do it in autoexec on startup
            Code:
            cpath = a5.Get_Path()
            cmast = a5.GET_MASTER_PATh()
            regusers = a5_registration_license_inuse(cmast+"\sales.muf")
            runtimeusers = a5_registration_license_inuse(cmast+"\sales.rmuf")
            totalusers = runtimeusers+regusers+1
            total users is a global var
            Last edited by DaveM; 11-15-2017, 06:58 PM.
            Dave Mason
            [email protected]
            Skype is dave.mason46

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

              Thanks Dave...
              I put a button on the MainMenu [Concurrent Users]...
              It loads a form that displays the variable... populated as you suggested

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Problem Loading A Form On LAN (Network)

                I show it on the start menu of that app
                Dave Mason
                [email protected]
                Skype is dave.mason46

                Comment

                Working...
                X